My Humax Forum » Freesat HD » HDR 1000, 1010, 1100S

Internet requirements

(8 posts)
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

Shiralco

Hi, I am new to FreeSat and I have just bought a Humax 1000s which I plan to use in France. I appreciate that the catch-up part won’t work as my IP address will be foreign but will everything else work? The reason I ask this is that I have a Humax YouView box in the UK and this relies heavily on the internet for both EPG population and software updates. Is the Freesat box the same? For example:

1. If I have no internet connection in France will the EPG still populate and record/playback work as normal?
    2. If a have an internet connection, but a foreign IP address, will automatic software updates work?

Any advice would be appreciated.

| Tue 21 Apr 2015 20:09:20 #1 |
  2. grahamlthompson

grahamlthompson

special member

The answer is yes to both. Software and epg are delivered via satellite. In fact every channel on the epg carries the full epg. I imagine the backwards epg won't populate though.

| Tue 21 Apr 2015 20:47:51 #2 |
  3. User has not uploaded an avatar

Shiralco

Thanks for the quick reply - great news, obviously it's the same as my old Humax FreeView box that received everything over the airwaves. I wonder why Humax/YouView opted for internet updates etc on the YouView box?

I've been trying to think of a way to get a proxy IP to fool the catch-up software, but think this is beyond my ability!

| Tue 21 Apr 2015 20:58:01 #3 |
  4. grahamlthompson

grahamlthompson

special member

Shiralco - 7 minutes ago  » 
    Thanks for the quick reply - great news, obviously it's the same as my old Humax FreeView box that received everything over the airwaves. I wonder why Humax/YouView opted for internet updates etc on the YouView box?
    I've been trying to think of a way to get a proxy IP to fool the catch-up software, but think this is beyond my ability!