My Humax Forum » Freesat HD » HDR 1000, 1010, 1100S

No signal on Tuner 1

(8 posts)
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

Honey

I bought the HDR 1000S/TR last friday, day of the terrible storm. I live in a small block of flats that share a satellite dish on roof.
    When setting up, more than 200 channels are available but Tuner 1 showed poor or week signal. Could get BBC1 and BBC2 intermittently. All other channels were unavailable to watch, showing on the screen,'The receiver is not receiving a signal or the signal is too weak'. I'm new to this and a complete techno luddite.
    The building manager had someone check the sat dish -nothing wrong with it. No one else in the other flats report similar problem.
    I've switched 2 satellite cables round just in case one of them is faulty. They are brand new. Everything else - hdmi cable, and other cables are in properly in place.
    What am i doing wrong or not doing? Please help!

| Tue 18 Feb 2014 17:44:00 #1 |
  2. grahamlthompson

grahamlthompson

special member

Hi welcome to the forum. When you swapped the cables I take it tuner 1 remained poor. Can you leave the cables as they are on the box and swap them at the wall sockets ? What happens now. Any chance of trying the box on a neighbours dish connections ?

| Tue 18 Feb 2014 17:54:12 #2 |
  3. User has not uploaded an avatar

Honey

Graham, you are a genius!
    I swapped them around at the wall and immediately got signal. A quick test of the signals in settings - Tuner 2 now shows bad signal but good quality (??). But at least i'm able to get channels - the ones i've checked so far - which is a lot more than the abysmal two I was able to get intermittently.
    Why oh why didn't i try that before. The wall sockets were obviously incorrectly labelled. I place too much trust in those who are meant to do their jobs. Never learn!
    Thank you very much, very very much.

| Tue 18 Feb 2014 23:17:25 #3 |
  4. -gonzo-

-gonzo-

special member