My Humax Forum » Freesat HD » HDR 1000, 1010, 1100S

Upgrade to 2tb hard drive?

(7 posts)
  1. Davy

Davy

special member

My 1tb hard drive is nearly full and I want to upgrade to a 2tb hard drive.
    What is the best one to buy and where to get it, plus, I need instructions on how to fit it as I'm not tech savvy. I know I will loose old recordings unless I watch them first, but feel it would be better if I had more space .
    Is ther any drawbacks and has anyone had any problems when after fitting it after using it for a while?
    Appreciate any comments..
    Thanks
    Have a 1010s,white version...

| Thu 23 Oct 2014 11:06:18 #1 |
  2. User has not uploaded an avatar

Alloneword

I fitted my WD 2TB drive (WD20EURX) a few months ago and had no issues so far what so ever, the only thing i'd tell you to bear in mind is the drive i used (WD20EURX) need a jumper put across the pins at the backof the drive to force it to run at a slower speed.

When i done my instal i did take a load of images as i was going to put it on here but not got around to it yet, if you want i can zip them up and upload them somewhere so you will aware of what to expect before you dive in, too be honest a trained monkey could do it, there is nothing to worry about rip out old one (i kept my old drive) whack in the new and boot up and format it was that simple, by the way i have the Black 1000 version but same meat differnt gravy.

All1

| Fri 24 Oct 2014 0:25:09 #2 |
  3. User has not uploaded an avatar

pilotrcuk