My Humax Forum » Freesat HD » FOXSAT HDR

WD10EURX 1TB hard drive work OK in Foxsat HDR?

(9 posts)
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

artwwweb

I’ve bought a 1Tb drive to upgrade my Foxsat HDR, but when I installed the drive, it was not recognised. So I installed the drive in a caddy, and formatted to FAT32, to make sure that the drive was working OK. I then installed in the drive back in the Humax but again it wasn’t recognised. (I chose FAT 32 knowing that FAT32 is recognised by the Humax, though I appreciate it should be EXT3.)

The drive is WD10EURX – so it’s a WD AV-GP as recommended. I can see from the Amazon and eBuyer reviews that it has been installed in other PVRs OK. I’m not a hardware expert, so I’m (desperately) wondering if it might be because the cache is too large? (64Mb) or maybe because it’s SATA III? It would be nice to know if other people have got this specific drive working in the Foxsat.

Any ideas on what I could try next?

Thanks.

| Tue 4 Sep 2012 14:44:21 #1 |
  2. grahamlthompson

grahamlthompson

special member

Try formatting the drive EXT3.

Delete the existing partition, recreate and format EXT3.

http://www.partition-tool.com/personal.htm

| Tue 4 Sep 2012 14:53:19 #2 |
  3. REPASSAC

REPASSAC

special member

Did you see any popup messages or any on the Foxsat front panel?

| Tue 4 Sep 2012 14:55:45 #3 |
  4. User has not uploaded an avatar

artwwweb

I thought formatting as EXT3 might be the next option.
    Messages - just had a messagebox which said, I think, "HDD not present" - it gave me the impression that it wasn't an error as such, just that it had not found an HDD when it was booting. The Humax worked fine but obviously no drive. Working fine since re-installing the original drive.
    I will try to install the EXT3 formatted drive in the next few days (got visitors at the moment so dismantling the box is not an option). In the meantime, I will try the Partition Master on the drive.

Thank you both for your help.