My Humax Forum » Freesat HD » FOXSAT HDR

Humax FOXSAT-HDR Freesat+ 320GB

(7 posts)
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

chriss

Hi, I'm new here. I've had the Foxsat box for 10 years and have been so pleased with it. I now have a new smart tv - LG 43UM7500PLA - and I'm still setting it up and trying to understand it all. I'm getting conflicting advice as to whether I need to keep the foxsat box or not as the new tv does record programmes. What is your advice?
    Ps. I have tried to connect the foxsat to the smart tv but not succeeded. I'd be grateful if any answers could be in easy to understand format as you can probably tell, I'm no techie!

| Thu 23 Jan 2020 13:07:37 #1 |
  2. grahamlthompson

grahamlthompson

special member

Welcome to our Forum

I have a Foxsat-HDR connected to a 2019 LG 4K TV with no problem. TV's do not make good recorders as generally you can only record the channel you are watching.

Go into Home bargains and buy a new HDMI lead marked high speed. In Home bargains they are marked as 4K capable (about £5:00). Avoid using HDMI 1 in as this port has ARC (audio return channel). Try the other ports on the TV. My Foxsat is connected to HDMI3 on my 4K LG OLED.

In the TV setup menus turn off HDMI control. Manually select the HDMI port you have connected the Foxsat to.

| Thu 23 Jan 2020 13:17:23 #2 |
  3. Trev

Trev

special member

I have a LG 43UK6300PLB. There is a great advantage of sticking a HDD into the LG. You get instant replay and pause live TV with absolutely no problem or fannying around. Just press the pause button and it just works.(My Samsung is a pain in the butt for both of those)
    I am just checking if it will record a scheduled programme when it's switched to standby. And the answer is? NO.

My advice for what it's worth if you want a decent recorder with good flexibility is the KEEP THE FOXSAT. You will PDQ get hacked off trying to record sensibly on the TV.

| Thu 23 Jan 2020 15:39:57 #3 |