My Humax Forum » Freeview HD » Aura UHD

Surround sound

(11 posts)
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

    jbsco

    member
    Joined: Apr '15
    Posts: 15

    offline

    I’m trying with box. However no surround sound either via digital direct to my cinema system or hdmi to my tv. I have changed the settings to surround in settings. Is there anywhere else I should consider? All cables worked with my former stb

    | Thu 25 Feb 2021 19:33:04 #1 |
  2. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 14,442

    offline

    jbsco - 2 mins ago  » 
    I’m trying with box. However no surround sound either via digital direct to my cinema system or hdmi to my tv. I have changed the settings to surround in settings. Is there anywhere else I should consider? All cables worked with my former stb

    Try turning off MS12 transcoding. The box will reboot.

    | Thu 25 Feb 2021 19:36:10 #2 |
  3. User has not uploaded an avatar

    jbsco

    member
    Joined: Apr '15
    Posts: 15

    offline

    No change

    | Thu 25 Feb 2021 20:12:27 #3 |
  4. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 14,442

    offline

    jbsco - 43 mins ago  » 
    No change

    What source are you expecting to get 5.1 sound from ?

    | Thu 25 Feb 2021 20:57:07 #4 |
  5. User has not uploaded an avatar

    jbsco

    member
    Joined: Apr '15
    Posts: 15

    offline

    Free view recorded programmes which are 5.1 and the apps which have 5.1

    | Thu 25 Feb 2021 21:54:23 #5 |
  6. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 14,442

    offline

    jbsco - 41 mins ago  » 
    Free view recorded programmes which are 5.1 and the apps which have 5.1

    Which ones. Very few Freeview content is actually 5.1.

    Channel recorded from and what programme.

    Recent series with genuine 5.1 content includes Battlestar Galactica on BBC2-HD.

    Most including all ITV-HD is Dolby Digital 2.0 (stereo).

    Father Brown if repeated is 5.1.

    Other channels flag content as 5.1 and it is not. Looking at the content shows no audio on anything but the front right and left channels. Any surround effect is down to your AVR DSP options you have selected.

    | Thu 25 Feb 2021 22:44:08 #6 |
  7. User has not uploaded an avatar

    jbsco

    member
    Joined: Apr '15
    Posts: 15

    offline

    Battlestar I have that.
    Home and away and neighbours.
    I’ve gone through settings. No effect on the matter, either the box or surround system. No problems with the previous stb. Has this got to do with the sound issues described by other users in this forum?

    | Thu 25 Feb 2021 23:26:11 #7 |
  8. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 14,442

    offline

    jbsco - 10 hours ago  » 
    Battlestar I have that.
    Home and away and neighbours.
    I’ve gone through settings. No effect on the matter, either the box or surround system. No problems with the previous stb. Has this got to do with the sound issues described by other users in this forum?

    Bates Motel Last Tuesday using Denon AVR - Need to sort out image it's too big.

    | Fri 26 Feb 2021 10:30:58 #8 |
  9. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 14,442

    offline

    Try again. BBC1 - HD Episode 1 Bates Motel last Tuesday. Denon AVR info

    Attachments

    1. Bates-Motel_5.1.jpg (113 KB, 6 downloads) 7 mnths old
    | Fri 26 Feb 2021 10:38:37 #9 |
  10. User has not uploaded an avatar

    jbsco

    member
    Joined: Apr '15
    Posts: 15

    offline

    Hi I’m now on my 2nd box, just bumping this up as no change no dd on any freeview hd channel. latest firmware/software.

    My box is connection via hdmi to LG Sound Bar SN11RG then hdmi to tv LG 65NANO906NA TV. As per humax suggestion. The sound bar is capable of 7.1 sound via earc arc and 5.1 via optical and 5.1 acc for freeview 5.1 sound.

    With the box>sound bar>tv I get
    atmos from the Apple TV app and 4K hdr. so 7.1.
    Disney is only 5.1 but hd.
    Prime video 5.1 and hdr can’t find an atmos programme.
    Freeview hd channels only stereo

    I have used the automatic settings in audio and video in settings for 7.1 sound connected to a sound system.

    Changed all cables, they are high speed eARC hdmi.

    Tried the setup via box tv sound bar. The tv does pass through. Changed the audio settings.

    Same as above 5.1 sound on apple (not atmos-to be expected)
    Stereo on freeview.

    I did go into the advanced surround settings. No change and turning ms12 on. Nothing. Tried optical direct to the sound box. Nothing.

    I’ve gone back to the settings and changed back to automatic for 7.0 sound and box sound bar tv connection.

    I’ve recorded hd 5.1 programmes from bbc and 5. Home and Away and various films.

    Has the recent play out issues with red bee media stoped any 5.1 sound on freeview?

    Any suggestions? We’ve had sky q and none of this amount of no dd. But both the tv and sound bar recognise atmos and 5.1 inputs.

    | Wed 29 Sep 2021 6:53:45 #10 |

RSS feed for this topic

Reply »

You must log in to post.