My Humax Forum » Freeview HD » HD FOX T2

HD Fox-T2 with 2TByte External Drive ?

(14 posts)
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

KPN

I am a newbie, but have been reading the various threads regarding 1TByte External drives and it sounds as though the Humax HD T2 will format the external drive without resorting to using Linux tools. Has anyone tried using the Humax to format a 2TByte external drive? I ask because looking at the Samsung drive there is only £10 difference in cost if I go for the larger 2 TByte model. However . . .

Apologies if this question has been answered elswhere.

Thanks

| Mon 22 Aug 2011 12:14:12 #1 |
  2. Wallace

Wallace

special member

AFAIK, the Humax will only format up to and including 1TB. However, I believe that you can format the >1TB HDD in a PC (ext3) and that will work. I have never done this so my knowledge is limited.

My 1TB HDD was recognised and formatted in the Hummy OK, but I have read that this is the limit.

I have a HDR, not an HD.

| Mon 22 Aug 2011 13:36:29 #2 |
  3. myhumax

myhumax

senior admin

Download GParted Live CD and boot up your PC using that and use GParted to format the drive to EXT3.

You can read Barry's guide to formatting a USB stick to EXT3 here: http://myhumax.org/forum/topic/how-to-format-a-usb-device-to-ext3-noddys-guide

And my three blog posts on using GParted: here (using Ubuntu), here (using Slax) and here (using GParted), for a rough idea of how to format.

But don't let the above overwhelm you, you just need to start up GParted, select the right hard disk and put a partition and EXT3 filesystem on it!

You might want to check out the Advanced Format Hard Drive post if you are purchasing one of these too.

Lastly! If you want to stick with Windows, you might want to try MiniTool's Free Partition Manager to format your drive. I've had variable success with this so can't confirm it will work correctly...

| Mon 22 Aug 2011 15:47:23 #3 |
  4. User has not uploaded an avatar

KPN