My Humax Forum » Freeview HD » HDR FOX T2

Are programme files saved to USB-HDD viewable on laptop ??

(20 posts)
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

Rob Milward

Hi All,

I have been trying to decide which PVR to buy both for myself and for my elderly parents. I have read reams on various machines (user manuals/owner reviews etc) and have been closing in on the Humax HDR Fox T2. However, I have one question that I thought I had understood but now am not so sure about. Can someone please help to clarify this for me. Many thanks in advance …

I am looking at the facility to copy programmes etc out to USB, be that a 1TB drive or a much smaller Memory Stick. Now, I work in IT so I understand all about disk formats (EXT3, FAT32 , NTFS) and file formats (MP4,XviD,DivX) but what eludes me is whether this particular box (or any other for that matter) copies the programme files out to USB in a format that can be directly read by another device, such as my Windows-7 laptop.

On the face of it I think this should be possible. The owner’s manual, which I have accessed online clearly states that the box is capable of copy-to/playback-from a FAT32 formatted drive. Equally, it states that the video output format is XviD, which I believe to be an MP4 compatible format. As such, I see no reason on the face of it why I could not make recordings on the Fox-T2, transfer them to my laptop (in XviD format) and then watch them back on that at a later date.

My reason for wanting to do this is that I work/live away from home in the week, mostly in B&B’s, so it would be nice if I could record programmes I am interested in at home, transfer them to the laptop and then watch them on that the following week.

Is this possible on the Fox-T2 or on any other PVR for that matter? Any info/guidance on this topic would be greatly appreciated.

| Tue 4 Dec 2012 9:48:43 #1 |
  2. grahamlthompson

grahamlthompson

special member