My Humax Forum » Freeview HD » FVP 4000T, 5000T

Does everyones freeview keep going off in NW area?

(9 posts)
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

    james_uk

    senior member
    Joined: Jun '13
    Posts: 99

    offline

    Hi, I am in Liverpool and i am hoping the issue is just the windy weather recently, but for a good few days now out tv keep losing signal every few minutes and coming up saying signal is either low or no signal then coming back a little after then will pause and go off again a bit after.

    Is it like this for others in Liverpool / NW area?

    James

    | Tue 16 Mar 2021 11:41:30 #1 |
  2. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 14,103

    offline

    james_uk - 2 mins ago  » 
    Hi, I am in Liverpool and i am hoping the issue is just the windy weather recently, but for a good few days now out tv keep losing signal every few minutes and coming up saying signal is either low or no signal then coming back a little after then will pause and go off again a bit after.
    Is it like this for others in Liverpool / NW area?
    James

    More likely the current high pressure conditions. Classic sign of uplift bringing more distant transmitters in range. All channels or are some worse than others ?

    | Tue 16 Mar 2021 11:46:26 #2 |
  3. User has not uploaded an avatar

    james_uk

    senior member
    Joined: Jun '13
    Posts: 99

    offline

    Pretty much on all stations

    | Tue 16 Mar 2021 11:55:01 #3 |
  4. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 14,103

    offline

    james_uk - 2 mins ago  » 
    Pretty much on all stations

    Winter Hill engineering work. Possibly on reduced power

    https://www.freeview.co.uk/corporate/platform-management/planned-engineering-works

    | Tue 16 Mar 2021 11:58:05 #4 |
  5. Manclad

    Manclad

    member
    Joined: Mar '21
    Posts: 12

    offline

    Just had the "no signal" message while watching ITV1HD (I'm in Cheshire). Never seen that message before so its a bit of a coincidence!

    | Tue 16 Mar 2021 12:05:46 #5 |
  6. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 14,103

    offline

    Manclad - 3 mins ago  » 
    Just had the "no signal" message while watching ITV1HD (I'm in Cheshire). Never seen that message before so its a bit of a coincidence!

    Most likely using Winter Hill as above.

    https://ukfree.tv/transmitters/tv/Winter_Hill

    | Tue 16 Mar 2021 12:09:56 #6 |
  7. User has not uploaded an avatar

    james_uk

    senior member
    Joined: Jun '13
    Posts: 99

    offline

    Thanks for your help Graham, always very helpful

    | Tue 16 Mar 2021 13:07:17 #7 |
  8. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 14,103

    offline

    james_uk - 32 mins ago  » 
    Thanks for your help Graham, always very helpful

    You are welcome

    | Tue 16 Mar 2021 13:39:39 #8 |
  9. Doghouse

    Doghouse

    senior member
    Joined: Mar '13
    Posts: 62

    offline

    I'm in south Manchester.

    I've just noticed this thread whilst I was looking for something else.
    Never had a problem with Freeview reception. I watch or record some programmes on it every day.

    I guess much of it is to do with where you live.

    I've a sixty year old di-pole TV aerial, originally used for 405 line TV, in the loft.
    I did change the cable to it from the old "thin stuff" twenty years ago, but it made no discernable difference to the reception or picture quality.

    It's connected to my two Humax boxes under my TV by a "splitter" and I've turned the second box on.

    I've just checked the signal strength choosing a channel at random.

    5 USA
    Signal strength 77%
    Quality 100%

    I'm getting a perfect picture.

    | Wed 17 Mar 2021 12:54:24 #9 |

RSS feed for this topic

Reply

You must log in to post.