My Humax Forum » Freesat HD » FOXSAT HDR

FoxSat Fault & Moving Hard Drive?

(7 posts)
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

TriChris

My FoxSAT HD500 PVR (Bought summer of 2012) has started to play up.
    It stopped responding to the remote or the front panel buttons.
    Powercycling brings up BBC1 with sound o.k. but it won't change channels and volume up puts the volume bar on the screen but then it stays stuck on the screen.

Any ideas?
    Doesn't sound like a PSU problem to me! But I'm not a PVR expert. Though I can change capacitors etc.

If I can't fix it is there any way of watching the stored programs?
    i.e. If I put the hard drive in a USB drive enclosure and plugged it into another PVR?
    I suspect they would just appear as files without program name, date etc.

I asked Humax if I bought a current model could I then watch the programs via an external drive but "We have no information on that" Humax have never seemed to want to help their customers!
    I may have bought a new Humax if it let me watch my recorded programs.

Any recommendations for a replacement?

Thanks Chris

| Wed 20 May 2015 16:10:23 #1 |
  2. grahamlthompson

grahamlthompson

special member

Have you tried a reset to factory defaults ? The drive is formatted EXT 3 so you need a PC booted into Linux or a EXT2/3 driver to read the disk

| Wed 20 May 2015 16:16:20 #2 |
  3. User has not uploaded an avatar

TriChris

Thanks for the tip. I tried a factory reset, but it is still playing up. It took me six or seven attempts to go through the installation wizard as by the time it got to postcode entry it was so slow that '22' wouldn't bring up B I eventually managed to enter the post code via one of the alternative 'keyboards'.

Could it be a PSU capacitor problem?
    It doesn't sound like typical symptoms for that.

I understand about reading ext2/3 formats but how would a get them to be played by a new PVR attached to the telly. I don't want to watch them via a PC.