My Humax Forum » Freeview HD » FVP 4000T, 5000T

FVP 4000t - Factory reset

(7 posts)
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

bobrugby

Just joined, so here's my silly question...... had my 4000t since last September and since then have been irritated by the "off air" signal apparently being too weak. This has come to the point where we only watch in SD as the breakup in HD is impossible and, quite often, find ourselves reverting to a direct aerial connection to the TV which is fine. I recognise we are in the weaker coverage of Sutton Coldfield but with signal Strength and Quality both consistently at 100% I'm at a bit of a loss. Latest software 1.01.57 updated over air this week; thought might improve the situation, apparently not.

My background is in Electronics/Radio/Radar so I'm not naive to the vagaries of propergation etc.

So, apart from your experienced comments on the above the silly question is: is there any way of preserving the recordings we have made if I carry out a "Factory Reset" on the beast!
    Many thanks
    Bob

| Sat 14 Jan 2017 16:10:54 #1 |
  2. grahamlthompson

grahamlthompson

special member

A factory reset will not delete your recordings only the recording schedule though at least on a Youview box you have two options retain or lose recordings (make a note of or photograph your recording schedule).

Have you tried a simple passive UHF splitter to avoid having the need to use the box rf loopthrough.

With 100% signal you may be overloading the tuner on the main HD mux, using a splitter will reduce the signal by about 4dB.

What is reception like on the COM 7 mux ?

Welcome to our forum.

| Sat 14 Jan 2017 16:28:04 #2 |
  3. User has not uploaded an avatar

Martin Liddle

special member

bobrugby - 1 hour ago  »