My Humax Forum » Freeview HD » FVP 4000T, FVP 5000T

Humax 5000 sound and signal problem

(10 posts)
  1. Chris O

    Chris O

    member
    Joined: Jan '18
    Posts: 10

    offline

    Hi new to the forum. Hubby bought me a Humax 5000 for a birthday present a few weeks ago.
    We have it connected up to the tv and a sound bar.
    If I try to watch the HD channels the sound is at normal level. Except for the HD channels that won’t load due to signal problems.
    The regular non HD channels sound is really low. I have to double the volume to hear the tv. Is this a known problem?
    On Demand button doesn’t work, but I can watch the players through the Freeview Play button. I have good signal via cable.

    Wed 10 Jan 2018 10:28:09 #1 |
  2. User has not uploaded an avatar

    john1

    senior member
    Joined: May '17
    Posts: 85

    offline

    Hi Chris, I found that the sound on the 5000t is best set on maximum.
    then use the TV volume control to actually set the volume to the required level for both the TV speakers & sound bar.

    Wed 10 Jan 2018 10:43:14 #2 |
  3. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 9,442

    online

    Turn down the TV volume, turn up the 5000T volume using it's remote to max. Tune to a SD channel, turn up the TV volume to a normal listening level.

    Using 5000T remote

    FreeviewPlay-Settings- General Settings - Audio - HDMI
    Change Dolby Digital to Stereo.

    Exit and tune to a HD channel. Volume level should be similar to SD.

    Use the TV volume to adjust levels in future.

    If you do a factory reset in future you will need to repeat the above.

    Wed 10 Jan 2018 10:50:41 #3 |
  4. Chris O

    Chris O

    member
    Joined: Jan '18
    Posts: 10

    offline

    Cheers Graham and John, that seems to have sorted it ????????
    Just need to reboot to sort the On Demand not working now.

    Wed 10 Jan 2018 11:15:21 #4 |
  5. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 9,442

    online

    Chris O - 13 minutes ago  » 
    Cheers Graham and John, that seems to have sorted it ????????
    Just need to reboot to sort the On Demand not working now.

    Incidentally the issue is down to the way your TV and soundbar handles the Dolby Digital audio output from the box when using HD channels. The volume level is encoded in the data stream and can only be altered after the audio is decoded. Changing the setting to stereo causes the box to recode DD to the same audio used on SD channels (mpeg 1 layer 2 - aka MP2). MP2 volume can be varied by the box volume control. Max volume gives you about the same level as kit with a fixed level like say a Sky-HD box.

    Re On demand if a reboot doesn't sort try leaving the box on tuned to 101 for a hour or so. Does your backwards epg work ?

    Wed 10 Jan 2018 11:37:23 #5 |
  6. Chris O

    Chris O

    member
    Joined: Jan '18
    Posts: 10

    offline

    Thanks Graham. Reboot has sorted the On Demand.
    Just trying to decipher what else you said about Dolby

    Wed 10 Jan 2018 11:54:07 #6 |
  7. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 9,442

    online

    Chris O - 2 minutes ago  » 
    Thanks Graham. Reboot has sorted the On Demand.
    Just trying to decipher what else you said about Dolby

    Freeview-HD actually uses AAC (Advanced Audio Codec), support to decode AAC is very limited, so Freeview-HD kit recodes to the near universally Dolby Digital format (aka AC3). AAC/DD is transmitted either as 2.0 (stereo) or 5.1 (Surround). To make proper use of 5.1 content you need a AV receiver and 6 speakers. Front Left, Front Centre, Front Right, Rear Left and Rear Right (and for .1 bit a subwoofer).

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dolby_Digital

    Wed 10 Jan 2018 12:04:29 #7 |
  8. Chris O

    Chris O

    member
    Joined: Jan '18
    Posts: 10

    offline

    Thanks Graham, we no longer have 5.1 surround sound. Bought a 2.1 sound bar recently. So I take we leave it on HDMI stereo and not Dolby digital?

    Wed 10 Jan 2018 16:25:54 #8 |
  9. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 9,442

    online

    Chris O - 3 minutes ago  » 
    Thanks Graham, we no longer have 5.1 surround sound. Bought a 2.1 sound bar recently. So I take we leave it on HDMI stereo and not Dolby digital?

    I would otherwise you will have the sound volume differences again unless you adjust the SD volume to match the level your TV/Sound bar gives on a HD channel. No reason you can't try this out as Dolby Digital should be superior.

    I take it the HD channels you refer to are the extra ones on COM 7 and include BBC 4 HD/ Cbeebies. Com 7 and 8 are lower power on the few main power transmitters that have them.

    Read this thread I started today.

    https://myhumax.org/forum/topic/freeview-retunes-early-2018

    Wed 10 Jan 2018 16:35:34 #9 |
  10. Chris O

    Chris O

    member
    Joined: Jan '18
    Posts: 10

    offline

    Thanks Graham, I just retuned to get BBC4 HD

    Sat 13 Jan 2018 0:35:48 #10 |

RSS feed for this topic

Reply

You must log in to post.