My Humax Forum » Freesat HD » FOXSAT HDR

Internet

(6 posts)
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Shaft

    junior member
    Joined: Jul '12
    Posts: 7

    offline

    I am connected to the internet by cable but it doesn't seem to register any where. How do I use it (the internet)on my TV?

    Wed 10 Jul 2019 15:21:18 #1 |
  2. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 10,535

    offline

    Shaft - 27 mins ago  » 
    I am connected to the internet by cable but it doesn't seem to register any where. How do I use it (the internet)on my TV?

    Other than using it for the custom firmware there is virtually no catch up services left on the first generation Foxsat-HDR. Buy a cheap plug in device like a NOW TV stick or a Fire TV Stick. Should be some offers on Amazon coming up. Prime Day 15th-16th July. You can get a free prime trial if you are not a existing prime member.

    Wed 10 Jul 2019 15:53:09 #2 |
  3. Trev

    Trev

    special member
    Joined: Apr '18
    Posts: 275

    offline

    Does your TV support a network connection. If so' it probably has some catchup stuff already on board such as BBC iPlayer etc.
    If not, the take GLT's advice above.

    Wed 10 Jul 2019 18:50:42 #3 |
  4. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Shaft

    junior member
    Joined: Jul '12
    Posts: 7

    offline

    So basically I am wasting my time having an internet cable attatched?

    Sat 13 Jul 2019 18:12:00 #4 |
  5. Trev

    Trev

    special member
    Joined: Apr '18
    Posts: 275

    offline

    If you don't use the custom firmware, then Yes.
    But does it actually cost any time then?

    Sat 13 Jul 2019 18:51:17 #5 |
  6. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 10,535

    offline

    Shaft - 3 hours ago  » 
    So basically I am wasting my time having an internet cable attatched?

    The custom firmware adds many options too many to list here. Lots of which we can't discuss here. It's far from a waste of time especially if you have other network devices capable of playing back content on your home network. Suffice it to say you can effectively convert the box to a media server that means you can view all it's recordings on other kit either directly or by copying them to to other kit.

    Sat 13 Jul 2019 21:38:45 #6 |

RSS feed for this topic

Reply

You must log in to post.