My Humax Forum » Miscellaneous » Other Humax Products

TN5050HDR (EU Spec) Freesat compatible?

(8 posts)
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

    caseyjay

    new member
    Joined: Jul '13
    Posts: 3

    offline

    Hi there, lightning just blew my HDR and my kind insurance company have asked me to cost a replacement. I live in France and bought mine in John Lewis and Freesat is not so easy to find over here. But Humax do have a similar (320gb dual tuner) model called TN5050 but it appears pre-configured for French equivalent (TNTSat/Astra1).

    Am therefore wondering what would happen if I got one & pointed it to Astra2 and whether I would get the 7 day UK EPG?

    Additionally, anyone know if HDRs can be repaired? (my shop said not worth looking at it - but it boots, just flashes a noise screen on-off)...thanks...

    | Thu 25 Jul 2013 14:37:38 #1 |
  2. REPASSAC

    REPASSAC

    special member
    Joined: Mar '11
    Posts: 4,053

    offline

    No EPG - it would function like a very basic FTA I think.

    These people will ship to France for £22.50 - If you can't find elsewhere may be worth a try. sateuropa

    | Thu 25 Jul 2013 14:58:11 #2 |
  3. User has not uploaded an avatar

    caseyjay

    new member
    Joined: Jul '13
    Posts: 3

    offline

    great link thanks - so a HDR 1TB with shipping is less than I can buy the French equivalent. Just a shame Astra 2 is shifting footprint so may lose all the channels anyway...

    | Thu 25 Jul 2013 16:43:50 #3 |
  4. REPASSAC

    REPASSAC

    special member
    Joined: Mar '11
    Posts: 4,053

    offline

    Where are you and what dish size? I am in 32800 with currently an 80/85cm with no breakup on CH4 HD, and 5. moving a small distance to 32460 soon and going to 90/95cm. Would have gone up another 10cm but was worried about excessive signal from 1n and 28a.

    | Thu 25 Jul 2013 16:52:19 #4 |
  5. User has not uploaded an avatar

    caseyjay

    new member
    Joined: Jul '13
    Posts: 3

    offline

    I'm about >100km further south with an 80cm; lost C4HD/5 in the 1st move in December (can't say I miss them). Plenty of talk about needing 100cm plus round my way so am going to wait until August/Sept, whenever the next phase is before deciding...

    | Thu 25 Jul 2013 17:18:40 #5 |
  6. REPASSAC

    REPASSAC

    special member
    Joined: Mar '11
    Posts: 4,053

    offline

    caseyjay - 17 hours ago  » 
    I'm about >100km further south with an 80cm; lost C4HD/5 in the 1st move in December (can't say I miss them). Plenty of talk about needing 100cm plus round my way so am going to wait until August/Sept, whenever the next phase is before deciding...

    2e is expected to be very like 2f. 2g (next spring) is somewhat an unknown as yet but I doubt it will be much different.

    > 100cm and roof mounted needs a permis.

    A friend and I have been playing around with a 95cm (upgrade from a puny 60cm). His Sky box still kept dropping out on 4HD and 5, whatever we tried. The signal also seemed to vary from time to time (according to the Sky box).

    I lent him my Foxsat - Sky quality varied on 4HD 10%-50% with picture breakup at less that about 25%, Foxsat 90% quality picture perfect. So it looks like the idea that Humax tuners are more sensitive is so.

    | Fri 26 Jul 2013 11:11:37 #6 |
  7. paulburke

    Paul

    senior member
    Joined: Mar '11
    Posts: 85

    offline

    Hi,

    I am in 24 (24260) with 80cm dish.

    Have a Foxsat HDR and Foxsat HD, have no problems with reception on 2f.

    My gite has a free to air box (Strong) and that is also fine running off same dish.

    | Fri 26 Jul 2013 12:47:43 #7 |
  8. REPASSAC

    REPASSAC

    special member
    Joined: Mar '11
    Posts: 4,053

    offline

    You are about 200 north of me and quite central, which lines you up with the beam quite well. I would expect an 80cm to be fine in your location except, perhaps in heavy rain, at least until 2g arrives.

    | Fri 26 Jul 2013 13:09:34 #8 |

RSS feed for this topic

Reply

You must log in to post.