My Humax Forum » Freesat HD » FOXSAT HDR

Unplugging old humax box

(18 posts)
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Caz23

    junior member
    Joined: Jan '23
    Posts: 9

    offline

    Oh, that's a shame.
    So if I unplug my existing one, to change across to the new one, will the recording definitely remain on the old one?
    Many thanks

    | Sun 22 Jan 2023 9:46:58 #11 |
  2. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Martin Liddle

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 4,199

    online

    Caz23 - 1 hour ago  » 
    So if I unplug my existing one, to change across to the new one, will the recording definitely remain on the old one?

    As far as I know then yes it will remain until there is a component failure.

    | Sun 22 Jan 2023 10:53:09 #12 |
  3. gomezz

    gomezz

    special member
    Joined: Mar '11
    Posts: 919

    offline

    You could leave the old PVR connected to the power and to the TV but just move the satellite dish feed cables to the new PVR. Assuming you have a spare HDMI socket on the TV so you can have both plugged in at once. That way you can watch the old recordings as and when you want while using the new PVR for new recordings.

    That said, I didn't see why you decided to get a new PVR. Does the old one still work but you wanted the catch-up functionality of a new one? Or has the old one stopped working in some way?

    | Mon 23 Jan 2023 9:01:50 #13 |
  4. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Caz23

    junior member
    Joined: Jan '23
    Posts: 9

    offline

    Thank you for your reply & suggestions.
    Unfortunately the TV doesn't have a spare HDMI socket.
    Decided to get a new PVR as existing is 11yrs old & doesn't have access to catch-up option. The existing one is fine. I will keep it plugged in to the mains so avoid losing the recording. Also I needed to spend some money I had & this seemed the best option.

    | Mon 23 Jan 2023 14:51:30 #14 |
  5. gomezz

    gomezz

    special member
    Joined: Mar '11
    Posts: 919

    offline

    You don't need to keep it plugged into the mains to keep the old recordings. The only reason I can think of to do so is to fire it up every now and again to spin the disk up to stop the bearings from seizing up due to lack of use - but is that even a thing? I am thinking of a little used car where the brakes etc bind if the car is not taken for a run every so often.

    | Mon 23 Jan 2023 23:05:48 #15 |
  6. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Caz23

    junior member
    Joined: Jan '23
    Posts: 9

    offline

    Thank you, it could be a thing. Definitely with a car though!

    | Tue 24 Jan 2023 19:14:48 #16 |
  7. Fixdit

    Fixdit

    senior member
    Joined: Aug '16
    Posts: 64

    offline

    As a test I have dug out my Foxsat HDR, last used 9 months ago.
    It re-booted a few times as the electrolytic capacitors re formed.
    All my recording were there still going back to 2008 even the ones on a
    usb connected hard drive.
    I might keep it running as it is connected to my "Satwalker" (Circa 1996)

    | Tue 24 Jan 2023 22:07:08 #17 |
  8. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Caz23

    junior member
    Joined: Jan '23
    Posts: 9

    offline

    Oh, that's very interesting & somewhat reassuring too. Although that said I'm still nervous about doing it.

    | Wed 25 Jan 2023 15:01:41 #18 |

RSS feed for this topic

Reply

You must log in to post.