My Humax Forum » Freeview HD » HDR FOX T2

Using a 3TB hard drive with a Fox T2

(9 posts)
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

    grant_whittaker

    member
    Joined: Feb '13
    Posts: 36

    offline

    Hi all,

    Got an external Hard Drive for birthday which I have connected to the T2.

    It doesn't seem to recognise it at all??

    It's currently formatted as NTFS - will re-formatting it to FAT32 help?

    Thanks for help in advance

    | Thu 20 Mar 2014 21:44:15 #1 |
  2. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Martin Liddle

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 4,010

    offline

    grant_whittaker - 22 seconds ago  » 
    Got an external Hard Drive for birthday which I have connected to the T2.
    It doesn't seem to recognise it at all??
    It's currently formatted as NTFS - will re-formatting it to FAT32 help?

    As far as I know the largest drive that the HDR-FOX T2 has been reported to see is 2TB which would suggest that the kernel doesn't have support for GPT partitions. It should work if formatted as 2TB using an MBR style partition but obviously you are wasting 1TB. Some of the later Humax boxes do support 3TB drives so >2TB support might conceivably arrive as a software update.

    | Thu 20 Mar 2014 21:50:53 #2 |
  3. User has not uploaded an avatar

    grant_whittaker

    member
    Joined: Feb '13
    Posts: 36

    offline

    Thank you - what is an "MBR" type partition and how would I do that?

    Thanks

    | Thu 20 Mar 2014 21:52:53 #3 |
  4. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Martin Liddle

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 4,010

    offline

    grant_whittaker - 5 minutes ago  » 
    Thank you - what is an "MBR" type partition and how would I do that?

    MBR partitions are the original partition type used by Windows but they are limited to 2TB. What operating system is the computer you will use running? On Windows 7 go into disk management, bring up help, type MBR and amongst the topics is how to change GUID (also known as GPT) partitioned disk into an MBR partitioned disk.

    | Thu 20 Mar 2014 22:02:16 #4 |
  5. User has not uploaded an avatar

    grant_whittaker

    member
    Joined: Feb '13
    Posts: 36

    offline

    Thank you

    | Mon 24 Mar 2014 12:59:17 #5 |
  6. User has not uploaded an avatar

    grant_whittaker

    member
    Joined: Feb '13
    Posts: 36

    offline

    Do we know if there will be an OTA update that will fix this problem at all?

    Thanks

    | Mon 24 Mar 2014 20:04:06 #6 |
  7. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Martin Liddle

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 4,010

    offline

    grant_whittaker - 13 hours ago  » 
    Do we know if there will be an OTA update that will fix this problem at all?

    There have been no suggestions that I can remember that this situation will be improved but I have no inside knowledge. The HDR-FOX T2 is semi obsolete so I wouldn't expect too many more software updates and I think there are more pressing problems that the majority would like to see fixed. Maybe Barry can comment?

    | Tue 25 Mar 2014 9:57:19 #7 |
  8. User has not uploaded an avatar

    grant_whittaker

    member
    Joined: Feb '13
    Posts: 36

    offline

    Martin Liddle - 4 days ago  » 

    grant_whittaker - 5 minutes ago  » 
    Thank you - what is an "MBR" type partition and how would I do that?

    MBR partitions are the original partition type used by Windows but they are limited to 2TB. What operating system is the computer you will use running? On Windows 7 go into disk management, bring up help, type MBR and amongst the topics is how to change GUID (also known as GPT) partitioned disk into an MBR partitioned disk.

    I have done this with my Windows 7 Ultimate machine - the "Convert to MBR" option is greyed out! (How annoying!)

    I might just buy a 2TB drive and keep this 3TB unit for backups to the computers?

    Unless anyone has any ideas?

    | Tue 25 Mar 2014 13:56:49 #8 |
  9. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Martin Liddle

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 4,010

    offline

    grant_whittaker - 1 hour ago  » 

    I have done this with my Windows 7 Ultimate machine - the "Convert to MBR" option is greyed out! (How annoying!)
    I might just buy a 2TB drive and keep this 3TB unit for backups to the computers?
    Unless anyone has any ideas?

    Have you deleted the existing partitions?

    | Tue 25 Mar 2014 15:29:11 #9 |

RSS feed for this topic

Reply

You must log in to post.