My Humax Forum » Freeview HD » HDR FOX T2

my hdr fox t2 keeps "clicking"

(54 posts)
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

Anderoo

Hi all. Newbie here so not sure whether i have put this in the correct section. Apologies if i haven't!!
    My hdr t2 (1tb) has recently started making a clicking noise intermittently (the same noise as when you power on or off the unit). It causes the picture to go glitchy on recordings and some recordings do not work properly (for example it will record the first 25 min of a hour long programme but the rest is missing). I phoned humax to seek advice and they suggested formatting the hdd. As i have a lot of recordings stored i had to copy these to an external drive...i managed to get the t2 to format a 2tb seagate external hdd...and then copied what i had recorded onto it...in the process of deleting stuff off the hdr t2 it got stuck on delete and would not come out of the "delete loop" (?!) I used advice from a thread on this forum to install firmware 1.09 using a usb drive (many thanks to those concerned). This cleared the delete loop. I then deleted everything and formatted the box and returned it to factory settings but it still makes the clicking noise (more often when its been on for a while or on the HD channels). Is the hard drive broke or is there another solution that i havent been able to find? Thanks

| Thu 12 Jun 2014 23:30:39 #1 |
  2. User has not uploaded an avatar

Martin Liddle

special member

Anderoo - 11 hours ago  » 
    Is the hard drive broke or is there another solution that i havent been able to find?

It certainly sounds as though the hard drive is having problems. The easiest way to be certain would be to install the custom firmware which will allow you to see the statistics about the health of the hard drive (SMART data). Changing the hard drive is not difficult nor too expensive if it is necessary.

| Fri 13 Jun 2014 11:00:48 #2 |
  3. User has not uploaded an avatar

Anderoo