My Humax Forum » Freesat HD » HDR 1000, 1010, 1100S

Do I have to leave it on permanently to record?

(12 posts)
  1. Grinny

Grinny

Hi.
    Complete newbie here. (We haven't even had a TV for at least 8 years)
    We set up the box (HDR-1100S) yesterday and set it to record two programmes late last night.
    Then I switched it to standby, assuming that it would switch itself on to make the recordings, on the basis that all the VCRs I ever had used to do that.
    It didn't record anything.
    Do I have to leave it on all the time in order for it to record?

| Fri 30 Nov 2018 16:11:45 #1 |
  2. grahamlthompson

grahamlthompson

special member

No it should wake up from Sby to make scheduled recordings.

First Home - Settings - OK General Settings Check Start and End Padding time is set to auto

Simple test locate a programme in the guide at lead 30 mins away. Press OK follow the prompt Re Series or just the one programme etc.

Put the box in sby. Wait till the recording should have started started and wake up the box.

Press recordings Most recent. Your ongoing recording should be top of the list. You can play it back from the beginning as it records. If it's ITV and you get to the ads. Press the forward skip button under the Text button twice (Skips forward 4 minutes unless you have changed the settings. Overshoot go back by using the reverse skip (under the recordings button).

Welcome to our Forum

| Fri 30 Nov 2018 17:45:20 #2 |
  3. Grinny

Grinny

Thanks Graham. I'll try that.

| Fri 30 Nov 2018 18:30:09 #3 |
  4. Grinny

Grinny

It appears to have worked.
    The two programmes that didn't record last night were both on at the same time, so maybe that's the issue, since it wasn't standby that was causing it.

| Fri 30 Nov 2018 19:20:09 #4 |
  5. grahamlthompson

grahamlthompson

special member

Grinny - 1 hour ago  » 
    It appears to have worked.