My Humax Forum » Freeview HD » Aura UHD

Do you suppose humax might figure out how to get t

(8 posts)
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Chrissssss

    member
    Joined: Apr '23
    Posts: 20

    offline

    Had my Auro for about 10 days and majority of the time I start it up it starts to no signal??
    I get it to start using totally random methods from pressing live TV button to a total unplug. My old 5000 used to take 20 minutes to start up and there was no way to tell whether it actually would.

    | Thu 13 Apr 2023 19:29:41 #1 |
  2. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Martin Liddle

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 4,644

    offline

    Chrissssss - 37 mins ago  » 
    Had my Auro for about 10 days and majority of the time I start it up it starts to no signal??

    Are you putting the box in deep standby or normal standby? My experience is that normal standby usually starts up fine at the expense of a little more power usage.

    My old 5000 used to take 20 minutes to start up and there was no way to tell whether it actually would.

    If the aerial is connected direct to the TV does the picture come on immediately?

    | Thu 13 Apr 2023 20:10:41 #2 |
  3. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Chrissssss

    member
    Joined: Apr '23
    Posts: 20

    offline

    For anyone with same issues. I decided to send the box back. The TV video just won't start without pulling the plug every time. I tried every single seeing, 3 different Hdmi sockets, hdmi switching, picture definition. The menus work, even channel preview windows work, yesterday I even watched you tube videos for an hour after starting up but switched to live TV and still no live TV video until I unplugged the box. It even records but just won't display TV video.

    | Sun 16 Apr 2023 14:36:18 #3 |
  4. Fixdit

    Fixdit

    special member
    Joined: Aug '16
    Posts: 109

    offline

    Another thing to check is that the HDMI cable is at least type 1.4 or preferbly 2.0.
    Especially if you are using the 3840 x 2160 output of the aura.

    | Sun 16 Apr 2023 15:36:49 #4 |
  5. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Chrissssss

    member
    Joined: Apr '23
    Posts: 20

    offline

    The HDMI lead came with it, and it works fine, the whole video works, apps, catch up, 4 k streaming, just no live TV video unless I totally unplug it. Was hoping to find a setting somewhere but it just doesn't work.

    | Sun 16 Apr 2023 15:53:54 #5 |
  6. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Chrissssss

    member
    Joined: Apr '23
    Posts: 20

    offline

    Quick update for anyone with the same issue. I wrote to Humax who said it was an aerial problem which it simply isn't. A few more experiments turns out to be an HDMI handshake problem which I've heard of before on this box. No amount of source switching will restore the picture but if I unplug the HDMI lead completely and plug it back in it restores the picture. If I don't output in 4K (switch video to h/Def) it works fine. I have now plugged in to hdmi 4 socket which seems to be the first socket my TV looks at before all my other devices, and the picture starts normally most times, and on the occasions the picture won't start I switch the box off and on with the remote seems to restore it. Hoping that future updates might address this hdmi handshaking in 4k

    | Sun 23 Apr 2023 11:32:23 #6 |
  7. User has not uploaded an avatar

    boogersa

    special member
    Joined: Jan '18
    Posts: 300

    offline

    Chrissssss - 5 mins ago  » 
    Quick update for anyone with the same issue. I wrote to Humax who said it was an aerial problem which it simply isn't. A few more experiments turns out to be an HDMI handshake problem which I've heard of before on this box. No amount of source switching will restore the picture but if I unplug the HDMI lead completely and plug it back in it restores the picture. If I don't output in 4K (switch video to h/Def) it works fine. I have now plugged in to hdmi 4 socket which seems to be the first socket my TV looks at before all my other devices, and the picture starts normally most times, and on the occasions the picture won't start I switch the box off and on with the remote seems to restore it. Hoping that future updates might address this hdmi handshaking in 4k

    “Future updates”?

    | Sun 23 Apr 2023 11:38:34 #7 |
  8. User has not uploaded an avatar

    kr002

    special member
    Joined: Nov '20
    Posts: 127

    offline

    Future updates

    | Sun 23 Apr 2023 14:13:09 #8 |

RSS feed for this topic

Reply

You must log in to post.