My Humax Forum » Freeview HD » FVP 4000T, 5000T

Getting recordings to play back elsewhere

(19 posts)
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

andyhurley

I'm new to the FVP 5000T so I am just getting used to all the facilities having moved over from a DVR FOX-T2 with customised firmware.

Everything seems good but I have so far been unable to play any recordings on any other device apart from via the app on Android. I have the Samba and FTP servers on and am able to browse and download files but I have not been able to get these to play.

Presumably this is caused by some encryption which is making the TS files unplayable. I did not expect HD files to work but I thought SD and audio only recordings would play.

I know the customised firmware used to decrypt files to make them playable but I thought if I used ftp it was supposed to do this on the fly but I guess I was wrong. What method CAN be used to extract an SD file such that it can be played on (e.g.) Windows?

I have a radio recording (last week's Hitchhikers from Radio 4) and I wanted to extract the mp3 so that I can play it offline but it seems that the transport steam cannot be demuxed. I can't even use DLNA to play it as audio only files don't seem to show up on there.

Any useful tips in this area? I can't really see the point of the Samba and FTP servers if the files can't be played elsewhere so I guess I must be doing something wrong.

Thanks in advance.
    Andy

| Mon 26 Mar 2018 14:48:09 #1 |
  2. User has not uploaded an avatar

BB

3. User has not uploaded an avatar

andyhurley

Yeah, I read that but it doesn't answer the question. I don't expect HD files to work (long time FOX-T2 user) and the thread linked suggests SD files should work if extracted via ftp - "Copying or streaming SD files decrypts the content." I can't get them to work at all via ftp or samba and I can't stream a radio programme via DNLA as it doesn't show in the list.