Green Screen « My Humax Forum

My Humax Forum » Freeview HD » HDR FOX T2

Green Screen

(18 posts)
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Gem

    member
    Joined: Mar '18
    Posts: 11

    offline

    Hi guys,
    Hope you're good.
    I have searched the forums and know this is a known issue, but I'm getting nowhere with the Humax customer service on this.

    So only over the last few months has the green screen started to kick in daily. I've tried all the solutions suggested. The HDMI cable isn't faulty, I've reset the PVR, I've tried turning on the TV first then the Humax and the other way around. It's just so frustrating, so every time I boot up the picture flashes for 2 seconds then goes green and it takes numerous reboots and start ups to get it working again.

    Humax support said it must be a problem with the television as it worked ok on another older TV, but it happened a few times with the TV before just not as often, and I can't take that as the reason as everything else on HDMI works just fine.

    I'm running the latest software.
    Does anyone have any clue how I can fix this? and why it's suddenly started happening every day?

    Thank you in advance.
    Gemma

    Wed 14 Mar 2018 10:57:08 #1 |
  2. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 9,943

    offline

    No guarantee, you could try this splitter using only one output.

    https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Ultra-1080P-4k-1-in-2-out-HDCP-Stripper-1x2-HDMI-Splitter-Power-Signal-Amplifier/112553850025?epid=915150085&hash=item1a34bb74a9:g:PfUAAOSwLaZZr5mw

    You also need to use a box USB out socket to power the device.

    Wed 14 Mar 2018 11:07:28 #2 |
  3. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Gem

    member
    Joined: Mar '18
    Posts: 11

    offline

    Thanks Graham, I tried a splitter last week that seemed to work at first, but it was a different type, so it may be worth a try.
    Humax said to check the max or minimum spec of HDMI with LG, but all they could tell me is that it's running HDMI 1.4.
    who knows?

    I appreciate the reply I may give it a go.. it's either that or the Humax is going to be thrown out the window

    Wed 14 Mar 2018 11:13:45 #3 |
  4. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Martin Liddle

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 2,504

    offline

    Gem - 18 minutes ago  » 
    Does anyone have any clue how I can fix this? and why it's suddenly started happening every day?

    The fact that it worked for a long time and got worse suggests a component gradually deteriorating so the following suggestion may not help. Some people have found that changing the loader firmware (rather than the main firmware) can help with HDMI handshake problems. You can download the full set of loaders from:

    http://hpkg.tv/rpc/cfwget.html?file=loader.a730.hdf
    http://hpkg.tv/rpc/cfwget.html?file=loader.a731.hdf
    http://hpkg.tv/rpc/cfwget.html?file=loader.a733.hdf
    http://hpkg.tv/rpc/cfwget.html?file=loader.a734.hdf

    One by one rename the file to HDR_FOX_T2_upgrade.hdf copy to a USB memory stick, put the Humax into standby, wait until the hard drive stops spinning, plug in the USB memory stick and it will update the loader fairly quickly (much faster than a standard firmware update). Then remove the Memory stick and try restarting the Humax and see if things are any better.

    Wed 14 Mar 2018 11:21:02 #4 |
  5. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 9,943

    offline

    Gem - 5 minutes ago  » 
    Thanks Graham, I tried a splitter last week that seemed to work at first, but it was a different type, so it may be worth a try.
    Humax said to check the max or minimum spec of HDMI with LG, but all they could tell me is that it's running HDMI 1.4.
    who knows?
    I appreciate the reply I may give it a go.. it's either that or the Humax is going to be thrown out the window

    It's the HDCP stripping that may work the oracle. You should still be able to view in SD using a scart cable. I use a similar one on a split feed to a lounge and kitchen TV. It avoids losing the signal on the main TV when the Kitchen TV turns off while the HDCP handshake starts again.

    Wed 14 Mar 2018 11:21:35 #5 |
  6. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Gem

    member
    Joined: Mar '18
    Posts: 11

    offline

    Thanks very much Martin, I'll try that too!
    Thanks guys you've been super helpful! much more so than the support team sadly!

    cheers

    Martin Liddle - 2 minutes ago  » 

    Gem - 18 minutes ago  » 
    Does anyone have any clue how I can fix this? and why it's suddenly started happening every day?

    The fact that it worked for a long time and got worse suggests a component gradually deteriorating so the following suggestion may not help. Some people have found that changing the loader firmware (rather than the main firmware) can help with HDMI handshake problems. You can download the full set of loaders from:
    http://hpkg.tv/rpc/cfwget.html?file=loader.a730.hdf
    http://hpkg.tv/rpc/cfwget.html?file=loader.a731.hdf
    http://hpkg.tv/rpc/cfwget.html?file=loader.a733.hdf
    http://hpkg.tv/rpc/cfwget.html?file=loader.a734.hdf
    One by one rename the file to HDR_FOX_T2_upgrade.hdf copy to a USB memory stick, put the Humax into standby, wait until the hard drive stops spinning, plug in the USB memory stick and it will update the loader fairly quickly (much faster than a standard firmware update). Then remove the Memory stick and try restarting the Humax and see if things are any better.

    Wed 14 Mar 2018 11:24:16 #6 |
  7. Luke

    Luke

    special member
    Joined: Apr '11
    Posts: 1,040

    offline

    Gem - 15 minutes ago  » 
    I'm running the latest software.

    You could consider trying different loaders. The loaders aren't usually updated when the software is updated.

    https://hummy.tv/forum/threads/problem-connecting-to-new-tv.8414/page-2#post-119990
    https://wiki.hummy.tv/wiki/Custom_Firmware_Package_Notes#Loaders
    ---

    There is also a tale of an HDMI cable that stopped working on an HDR-FOX T2 but continued to work under some circumstances elsewhere
    https://hummy.tv/forum/threads/do-hdmi-cables-go-bad.6289/#post-82050
    In other words even if you think the cable isn't faulty try using another one anyway.
    ---

    I'd be surprised if Graham's suggestion did not work.

    Edit: See there's been a few posts since I started typing that!

    Wed 14 Mar 2018 11:25:00 #7 |
  8. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Gem

    member
    Joined: Mar '18
    Posts: 11

    offline

    Thanks Luke, yep I tried different cables too.. I've done all the combos! fingers crossed for the splitter and loaders!

    Luke - 20 minutes ago  » 

    Gem - 15 minutes ago  » 
    I'm running the latest software.

    You could consider trying different loaders. The loaders aren't usually updated when the software is updated.
    https://hummy.tv/forum/threads/problem-connecting-to-new-tv.8414/page-2#post-119990
    https://wiki.hummy.tv/wiki/Custom_Firmware_Package_Notes#Loaders
    ---
    There is also a tale of an HDMI cable that stopped working on an HDR-FOX T2 but continued to work under some circumstances elsewhere
    https://hummy.tv/forum/threads/do-hdmi-cables-go-bad.6289/#post-82050
    In other words even if you think the cable isn't faulty try using another one anyway.
    ---
    I'd be surprised if Graham's suggestion did not work.
    Edit: See there's been a few posts since I started typing that!

    Wed 14 Mar 2018 11:45:30 #8 |
  9. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Gem

    member
    Joined: Mar '18
    Posts: 11

    offline

    Hey guys, sadly the splitter didn't solve the issue. Worked first time then green screen back every day... do you think it's a case of getting a new one? .. so disappointing.
    thanks
    Gem

    Sun 18 Mar 2018 8:53:23 #9 |
  10. User has not uploaded an avatar

    bmax

    member
    Joined: Mar '11
    Posts: 42

    offline

    A few years ago,I too had a green screen problem which got gradually worse over a few months, until it become intolerable. My spare Humax worked fine on the same TV. I tried all the usual fixes (except for loader changes) to no avail.

    I persuaded Humax to agree to an exchange, but before the actual change over, I bought a new Panasonic TV to replace the ageing Sony Bravia (for other reasons). The green screen problem disappeared! I canceled the exchange and I have never had a green screen since.

    I assume that there is possibly a timing problem between certain Tvs and the Humax, as there seems to be no definite relationship between various manufacturers, so maybe it is just the luck of the draw!

    Sun 18 Mar 2018 12:47:52 #10 |

RSS feed for this topic

Reply »

You must log in to post.