My Humax Forum » Freeview HD » HD FOX T2

HD FOX T2 blank screen.

(8 posts)
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

    John Shaft

    junior member
    Joined: Sep '17
    Posts: 5

    offline

    Hi guys,I thought I would revive my Humax HD FOX T2 Freeview HD box for my sons room.
    Switched it on and while it shows the Humax logo at the start it flashes a green screen and then goes blank.
    Tried the restart button but to no avail.
    Is there a fix or is my sons TV not recognising old /obsolete software ?
    Cheers.

    | Sun 3 Sep 2017 20:46:51 #1 |
  2. Luke

    Luke

    special member
    Joined: Apr '11
    Posts: 1,315

    online

    How is the HD-FOX T2 connected to the TV?

    If it is via an HDMI cable does a SCART cable work OK?

    While it is displaying a black screen does it show anything if you press MENU on the HD-FOX T2's remote?

    | Sun 3 Sep 2017 21:19:25 #2 |
  3. User has not uploaded an avatar

    John Shaft

    junior member
    Joined: Sep '17
    Posts: 5

    offline

    Thanks for your response Luke.
    It is connected by HDMI and I haven't tried a scart cable yet .
    I have tried to bring up menus and the like but nothing shows up.

    | Sun 3 Sep 2017 21:29:58 #3 |
  4. User has not uploaded an avatar

    fedman1

    special member
    Joined: Dec '13
    Posts: 131

    offline

    I agree with Luke regarding trying a 'SCART' (analogue) connection.

    You could also check that both ends of the HDMI plugs are fully seated in their sockets.
    If you have one try another HDMI cable, if not try another HDMI input on your TV.

    Has this TV /PVR combination ever worked previously?

    | Mon 4 Sep 2017 9:40:37 #4 |
  5. User has not uploaded an avatar

    John Shaft

    junior member
    Joined: Sep '17
    Posts: 5

    offline

    Hi there,not the same TV/PVR combo.
    And I have tried two different hdmi's.
    I will go with the Scart option (if I can find it)
    Many thanks chaps.

    | Mon 4 Sep 2017 12:18:23 #5 |
  6. Luke

    Luke

    special member
    Joined: Apr '11
    Posts: 1,315

    online

    John Shaft - 49 minutes ago  » 
    Hi there,not the same TV/PVR combo.
    And I have tried two different hdmi's.
    I will go with the Scart option (if I can find it)
    Many thanks chaps.

    I'm not really suggesting the SCART as an 'option' but just as a temporary means to track down what the cause is and get at the Humax menus.

    If it does work then you could keep it like that but if it gives you access to the Humax menus it will then enable you to check that the HDMI mode isn't set to something the TV cannot cope with. Some older TVS can't cope with 1080p, and some older than that can't cope with 1080i either. I seam to recall that the Humax splash screen which shows the logo when powering up is 720p.

    | Mon 4 Sep 2017 13:15:00 #6 |
  7. User has not uploaded an avatar

    John Shaft

    junior member
    Joined: Sep '17
    Posts: 5

    offline

    Luke - 4 hours ago  » 

    John Shaft - 49 minutes ago  » 
    Hi there,not the same TV/PVR combo.
    And I have tried two different hdmi's.
    I will go with the Scart option (if I can find it)
    Many thanks chaps.

    I'm not really suggesting the SCART as an 'option' but just as a temporary means to track down what the cause is and get at the Humax menus.
    If it does work then you could keep it like that but if it gives you access to the Humax menus it will then enable you to check that the HDMI mode isn't set to something the TV cannot cope with. Some older TVS can't cope with 1080p, and some older than that can't cope with 1080i either. I seam to recall that the Humax splash screen which shows the logo when powering up is 720p.

    No not at all,just as long as it gets me started and I can see what the problem may be.
    And yes,it seems likely that I may have to change the resolution.
    It's not old per say,but it's a 5 1/2 yr old Kogan running at 720 p
    Seems to be stunning for the PS4 though.

    | Mon 4 Sep 2017 17:43:26 #7 |
  8. User has not uploaded an avatar

    John Shaft

    junior member
    Joined: Sep '17
    Posts: 5

    offline

    Right chaps,the scart idea worked and that led me to using the HDMI successfully.
    I had actually fired an email to Humax themselves and guess what ?
    They told me it was buggered and I had to buy a new one.
    LOL !!!!!
    I never expected any other response tbh.
    Cheers guys.

    | Sun 17 Sep 2017 17:47:16 #8 |

RSS feed for this topic

Reply

You must log in to post.