My Humax Forum » Freesat HD » HDR 1000, 1010, 1100S

HDD Failure?? (& Replacement)

(11 posts)
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

colgard

Hi, a Newbie here. Bought HDR-1000S in April 2013...all fine since...till last week when, at 86% full, current recording threw up the warning "Recording cannot be completed as hard drive is full."!! Deleted about 15hrs of unwatched progs (with much pain!) to create space...in middle of doing this, all recordings suddenly disappeared...yet still 86% used space. Shut down, rebooted etc. etc....no progress...left it till next day by which time no recordings listed plus 0% space used!!
    Assume Seagate hdd failure, much to my annoyance (to say the least!) as it's just a few months out of warranty (of course!).

Any foreseeable probs replacing hdd with WD AV-GP Enterprise [WD20EURX] (EURS version no longer seems to be available)from Amazon??

Is it just a case of disconnecting the Seagate & fitting the WD in its place, start up & format???

Any help would be greatly appreciated as Humax have not responded to my requests.

Many thanks in advance.

| Tue 28 Jul 2015 14:58:20 #1 |
  2. grahamlthompson

grahamlthompson

special member

Welcome to our forum. Other than fitting a jumper to pins 5 and 6 to reduce the write speed of the faster drives and pointing out the case screws are under the stick on feet it's a very simple operation (At least up to 2TB).

The EURX drives are Sata6 models.

http://www.wdc.com/wdproducts/library/SpecSheet/ENG/2879-701250.pdf

http://support.wdc.com/product/install.asp?wdc_lang=en&fid=wdsfAV_GP

| Tue 28 Jul 2015 15:10:17 #2 |
  3. User has not uploaded an avatar

colgard

Thank you very much for your swift response, Graham.

Coincidentally, Humax have just got back to me but can only suggest a reformat which hasn't worked unfortunately.

So I definitely DO need a jumper on pins 5 & 6 then?? Beyond that, all should be ok??

Thanks again, Graham.

| Tue 28 Jul 2015 15:18:29 #3 |
  4. grahamlthompson