My Humax Forum » Freesat HD » HDR 1000, 1010, 1100S

HDR 1000S Remote a bit flakey

(6 posts)
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Ranger176

    member
    Joined: Jun '14
    Posts: 32

    offline

    Hi all.

    I have had my HDR1000S since June this year, with no problems. In the morning, when I attempt to use the remote control to switch on the unit, the Standby button doesn't always work, and takes several attempts at pressing the button. When the box is on, the other buttons appear to work ok. When I switch the box to Standby at night, the Standby button works ok.

    I thought it may be the batteries, but because other buttons are working, probably may not be the case.

    What is strange, when I press the Standby button first thing in the morning, the STB button half heartedly flickers. But after the unit has been on for a while the button light up normally.

    | Wed 12 Nov 2014 10:28:05 #1 |
  2. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 14,442

    offline

    Try pressing the zero key a couple of times rather than the power key.

    | Wed 12 Nov 2014 10:46:46 #2 |
  3. User has not uploaded an avatar

    damian

    special member
    Joined: Jan '12
    Posts: 597

    offline

    First thing to try is a new set of alkaline batteries, any brand, not zinc carbon type that are rubbish and imho should be banned.
    Just because other buttons work doesn't prove that the batteries are okay

    | Wed 12 Nov 2014 12:10:01 #3 |
  4. REPASSAC

    REPASSAC

    special member
    Joined: Mar '11
    Posts: 4,101

    offline

    Like damian, I would try changing the batteries.
    The remote playing up first thing in the morning could well be temperature related. Batteries perform at their worst when cold.

    | Wed 12 Nov 2014 12:24:03 #4 |
  5. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Ranger176

    member
    Joined: Jun '14
    Posts: 32

    offline

    Thanks guys, will try some fresh batteries tomorrow. When used the remote this evening, the same happened again. The heating had been on for most of the day, and didn't drop under 21c.

    | Wed 12 Nov 2014 19:36:07 #5 |
  6. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 14,442

    offline

    Ranger176 - 1 hour ago  » 
    Thanks guys, will try some fresh batteries tomorrow. When used the remote this evening, the same happened again. The heating had been on for most of the day, and didn't drop under 21c.

    Did you try booting using the zero button ?

    | Wed 12 Nov 2014 21:04:24 #6 |

RSS feed for this topic

Reply

You must log in to post.