My Humax Forum » Freesat HD » HDR 1000/1010/1100S

HDR 1000S to Video capture to PC

(12 posts)
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

    donaldjamessimm

    senior member
    Joined: Oct '14
    Posts: 50

    offline

    If I buy a capture card (AV to USB) would it enable copying the HDD films in SD from the rear panel to a PC to enable later storage on DVD/Blu-ray?
    I understand that I cannot copy them in HD.

    I seem unable to find a AV input, DVD or Blu-ray recorder they are all USB.
    If such things are still available perhaps someone might suggest one.
    Thank you.

    Thu 4 Apr 2019 13:56:11 #1 |
  2. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 10,236

    offline

    Usb capture devices normally digitise analogue audio and cvbs video and save the digital files via usb to a PC. The 1000S if I remember correctly has RGB out on the scart socket which will produce much better quality. The quality isn't brilliant so no point in saving to anything other than DVD unless you can use RGB.. They generally have software to create DVD-Video disks from the captured files

    Some DVD recorders are able to handle RGB inputs so one of these will give the best results.

    eg

    https://www.amazon.co.uk/Panasonic-DMR-ES20D-Recorder-Freeview-RECORDING/dp/B000AM2E52

    Thu 4 Apr 2019 14:21:46 #2 |
  3. User has not uploaded an avatar

    donaldjamessimm

    senior member
    Joined: Oct '14
    Posts: 50

    offline

    Thank you for your response and opinion.
    My take from what you have said is that RGB is the best way to go and thus NOT video capture.

    ...so no point in saving to anything other than DVD unless you can use RGB.

    I note 'unless' which I think suggests that it might be acceptable to save RGB to Blu-ray (if a device was available). Can you comment further on this?

    I previously used the excellent Panasonic DMR-EX75 which developed the dreaded U81 error which plagued similar devices and I would not want to risk that the device you point to has a similar history, since it appears the same except that it does not have a HDD.
    Do you know of a more up to date device I could use?
    Thank you

    Thu 4 Apr 2019 17:55:24 #3 |
  4. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 10,236

    offline

    donaldjamessimm - 1 minute ago  » 
    Thank you for your response and opinion.
    My take from what you have said is that RGB is the best way to go and thus NOT video capture.

    ...so no point in saving to anything other than DVD unless you can use RGB.

    I note 'unless' which I think suggests that it might be acceptable to save RGB to Blu-ray (if a device was available). Can you comment further on this?
    I previously used the excellent Panasonic DMR-EX75 which developed the dreaded U81 error which plagued similar devices and I would not want to risk that the device you point to has a similar history, since it appears the same except that it does not have a HDD.
    Do you know of a more up to date device I could use?
    Thank you

    Not sure what this means. RGB is SD Video and of the highest possible quality. As it uses 3 conductors to individually carry the Red Green and Blue colour data.

    In order of quality worst first

    Composite Video (aka CVBS Composite Video and Blanking). The HDR-1000S outputs CVBS from it's scart or by the yellow RCA phono socket. The scart cable can't do RGB and composite at the same time as the blanking signal uses the conductor used for composite.

    Composite combines Chrominance and Luminance into a single cable, cross talk between the two corrupts the picture quality when the Chrominance and Luminance is seperated out again.

    S-Video retains a seperate conductor for the chrominance and luminance eliminating the crosstalk.

    Component YCbBr is a variation of RGB that is capable of carrying HD Video.

    So yes RGB Video is the best video format to capture. You can get RGB capture cards for Desktop type PC's but are unlikely to find a Laptop with this capability.

    The DVDR I linked to has the capability to capture RGB. You would have to set the HDR-1000S scart to output RGB to the DVDR.

    There is another much more complex way of actually capturing the HDR-1000S output using it's HDMI digital output.

    You would need a digital modulator like this one.

    https://www.amazon.co.uk/Technomate-TM-RF-HD-IR-Loopthrough/dp/B0789H7JVD/ref=sr_1_2?crid=1DGEJUDMIM495&keywords=digital+modulator&qid=1554397996&s=gateway&sprefix=digital+modulat%2Caps%2C139&sr=8-2

    This takes the HDMI output (which can be HD) and creates a single channel digital DVB-T mux using the UHF carrier of your choice on it's coax output.

    A Freeview-HD pvr can tune this channel and record it in the same way as it can record other digital mux from the aerial it is connected to.

    Thu 4 Apr 2019 18:16:31 #4 |
  5. User has not uploaded an avatar

    donaldjamessimm

    senior member
    Joined: Oct '14
    Posts: 50

    offline

    Thank you again.
    The modulator seems like a perfect solution to retain HD, but also requiring the ES20D (or another) to tune to it, so the path you first suggested seems the way to go. 'Suck it and see'.

    My thanks again.

    Thu 4 Apr 2019 18:51:40 #5 |
  6. User has not uploaded an avatar

    donaldjamessimm

    senior member
    Joined: Oct '14
    Posts: 50

    offline

    Have just found this which sounds too good to be true.

    https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B01LX22X2T/ref=sspa_dk_detail_2?psc=1&pd_rd_i=B01LX22X2T

    Thu 4 Apr 2019 19:53:22 #6 |
  7. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 10,236

    offline

    donaldjamessimm - 29 minutes ago  » 
    Have just found this which sounds too good to be true.
    https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B01LX22X2T/ref=sspa_dk_detail_2?psc=1&pd_rd_i=B01LX22X2T

    Games consoles do not have to enforce HDCP handshake procedures because personal game play content is not copyright protected,

    Broadcast content when connected to a external device during the HDCP handshake procedure check that the destination device is not a recorder. If so the video/audio output is suppressed.

    The digital modulator during the handshake identifies itself as a display so for most kit the video and audio is delivered.

    HDCP only works with digital video outputs (DVI/HDMI).

    There are other ways of protecting analogue outputs, these days these are largely pretty useless.

    I can't say much more here other than the copy restrictions generally only apply to Freesat/Freeview licensed sytems. There are hundreds of generic Free To Air satellite boxes that do not encrypt or copy protect legally viewable Free To Air content. Suggest you read up on how HDCP copy protection works.

    Many of these (like the Humax boxes) use a operating system based on the Linux system.

    Try googling Linux Enigma2 based systems.

    Be aware in most but not all of these there is no epg based recording system or automatic updates of the many changes to the frequent changes to the channel broadcast parameters.

    Thu 4 Apr 2019 20:33:22 #7 |
  8. User has not uploaded an avatar

    donaldjamessimm

    senior member
    Joined: Oct '14
    Posts: 50

    offline

    Thank you for that.
    My need is to archive some of the stuff on my Humax which is 2TB. If it goes wrong, I lose a lot. Even if it had a facility to archive to a 'extension' drive (also encrypted) then I still lose the archived stuff.

    I do not know how the device I point to identifies itself, so that is a question to ask, but you have answered, by mentioning two sources, why reviewers have said it works with Sky boxes. The manufacturer says this works with 'any' HDMI source, whatever can be read into that.

    Thu 4 Apr 2019 21:05:58 #8 |
  9. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 10,236

    offline

    donaldjamessimm - 16 minutes ago  » 
    Thank you for that.
    My need is to archive some of the stuff on my Humax which is 2TB. If it goes wrong, I lose a lot. Even if it had a facility to archive to a 'extension' drive (also encrypted) then I still lose the archived stuff.
    I do not know how the device I point to identifies itself, so that is a question to ask, but you have answered, by mentioning two sources, why reviewers have said it works with Sky boxes. The manufacturer says this works with 'any' HDMI source, whatever can be read into that.

    Your only options are to use a device which includes a analogue to digital converter, or try the device you linked to. If bought remotely you can return it under the distance selling regs. It's possible the device has HDCP stripping capability. You would have to try it to find out.

    DVDR- either using the box CVBs or RGB output - best option

    A USB device with a CVBS analogue input connected to a PC by USB.

    Completely random search

    https://www.amazon.co.uk/Grabber-Capture-Convert-Digital-Converter-BLACK/dp/B0772GP4K8/ref=sr_1_10?crid=21D9ROWWUG46U&keywords=usb+capture+device&qid=1554409664&s=gateway&sprefix=usb+capture+%2Caps%2C409&sr=8-10

    Pretty sure the G2 boxes encrypt all recordings HD or SD so no way to remove the HDD to copy the recording files direct to a a PC.

    Had you used a G1 Foxsat-HDR there would be no problem.

    Thu 4 Apr 2019 21:32:50 #9 |
  10. User has not uploaded an avatar

    donaldjamessimm

    senior member
    Joined: Oct '14
    Posts: 50

    offline

    Thank you yet again. It seems that none of the capture systems, like that which you link to, will accept RGB from Scart.

    I am not happy with the modulator route because it also requires a another HD box to tune to it and record.
    I would like to pose a question or two if you will indulge.

    grahamlthompson said: Had you used a G1 Foxsat-HDR there would be no problem.

    Perhaps it is better for future recordings to go backward to a G1 box.
    1. I also have a Foxsat-HD (so no recorder). Is the HDMI o/p recordable in any way i.e. does it still rely on the handshake you mentioned or could I use an HDMI capture such as that I linked to?
    2. If I obtained a Foxsat-HDR can you point me to any instructions required to achieve my goal for future recordings.

    [EDIT]I have just Rx'd two positive answers regarding placing the device I linked to, between Humax and TV then recording what is playing from the Humax.

    Fri 5 Apr 2019 8:07:38 #10 |

RSS feed for this topic

Reply »

You must log in to post.