My Humax Forum » Freesat HD » HDR 1000, 1010, 1100S

Help for Newbie - DNLA, password and manual

(4 posts)
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

Cyclops91

Hello everyone. I am a complete newbie when it comes to PVR's of this type, my only previous experience has been a Sky+ box which has been completely straightforward and trouble-free for three years. I had decided to ditch it as we were not getting value for our subscription and a new PVR would offer the ability to watch Freetime. Imagine my delight when I saw that Comet were selling the HDR1000S for £195! (the only thing with a decent discount)

That was 10 days ago.... Progress has been slow as we have a lot of Sky recordings to watch before I can switch permanently, and in the meantime I have been looking round this forum with increasing despair as I see:
    a) the issues people have had
    b) the amount of specific technical knowledge that seems to be required to do anything other than basic recording.
    I thought I was reasonably knowledgeable on PCs but know nothing about DNLA or streaming, or MUX's for that matter.

Am I right in thinking there is no user manual available for the HDR1000S? I emailed Humax about this 10 days ago and they have not even acknowledged my enquiry. Is this a typical response from them?

- I have briefly tried the box out but not tried a scheduled recording.
    - I have managed to connect to my network over wifi, but the connection has now failed and I can't seem to restore it.
    I would be very grateful if anyone could help with my immediate questions:
    1) what are the restrictions on the wifi password format that the HDR1000S can accept. My original password was 16 characters long including some spaces and this did not seem to be acceptable. A shorter one did work (10 characters and no spaces) but does not now.