My Humax Forum » Freeview HD » FVP 4000T, 5000T

Is my FVP400T dying?

(6 posts)
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

    ShirC

    new member
    Joined: Oct '18
    Posts: 2

    offline

    Hi new here and not very tech minded! I have 2 year old fvp4000t which has worked perfectly up until yesterday. On watching live tv or recording the screen suddenly starts flickering and then black screen appears I still have sound but nothing else, even the menu etc doesn't come up?

    Sat 20 Oct 2018 12:22:19 #1 |
  2. User has not uploaded an avatar

    A1944

    special member
    Joined: Dec '17
    Posts: 277

    offline

    Have you checked that the plugs are secure?

    Sat 20 Oct 2018 12:41:20 #2 |
  3. User has not uploaded an avatar

    ShirC

    new member
    Joined: Oct '18
    Posts: 2

    offline

    Hi yes checked that HDMI cables are secure and properly inserted. I have also done the unplugging and starting again bit but it doesn't work. It has eventually came back on but worry that it will suddenly go again. I don't want to rush out and buy a new box if it's something minor that can be sorted

    Sat 20 Oct 2018 12:45:41 #3 |
  4. REPASSAC

    REPASSAC

    special member
    Joined: Mar '11
    Posts: 3,767

    offline

    Assuming you did reset both ends of the cable, I would suggest trying:
    1. Another cable.
    2. A different HDMI port on the TV.

    Sat 20 Oct 2018 13:13:10 #4 |
  5. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 10,280

    offline

    ShirC - 2 hours ago  » 
    Hi new here and not very tech minded! I have 2 year old fvp4000t which has worked perfectly up until yesterday. On watching live tv or recording the screen suddenly starts flickering and then black screen appears I still have sound but nothing else, even the menu etc doesn't come up?

    Can you pause Live TV ?

    Sat 20 Oct 2018 14:44:12 #5 |
  6. User has not uploaded an avatar

    RoverT

    member
    Joined: Mar '18
    Posts: 15

    offline

    REPASSAC - 21 hours ago  » 
    Assuming you did reset both ends of the cable, I would suggest trying:
    1. Another cable.
    2. A different HDMI port on the TV.

    Yes I had a similar issue with interference between my HDMI and aerial cables a while back - screen would suddenly go black as no signal was received. Changing the HDMI cable solved the problem.

    Sun 21 Oct 2018 11:07:03 #6 |

RSS feed for this topic

Reply

You must log in to post.