My Humax Forum » Freeview HD » FVP 4000T

Odd iplayer issue on FVP4000

(19 posts)
  1. pleasedtoview

    pleasedtoview

    junior member
    Joined: Mar '17
    Posts: 8

    offline

    Whilst iplayer works fine generally on my Humax, There is one scenario that is always a headache- namely watching an "on now" show and choosing "watch from beginning".
    Invariably playback will stop after a period of time,say 10 or 20 mins, and revert to playing a previous programme on the same channel. Not even the previous programme, usually half way through something from a couple of hours previous.
    Going by the display the app appears to think the correct programme is still playing, and the only way out is to stop/search again/start from beginning/fast forward (it doesn't show in recently watched) and carry on watching until it happens again. It will generally happen 2 or 3 times in an hour long programme. Very annoying!
    Has anyone had any experience of this? I wonder if it is a Humax or a BBC issue?

    Thu 30 Mar 2017 10:09:04 #1 |
  2. Barry

    Barry

    administrator
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 7,472

    offline

    Welcome to our Forum

    I'll check this out on a few different products, may take some time obviously for me to post results.

    Anyone else care to comment?

    Thu 30 Mar 2017 10:32:27 #2 |
  3. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 7,452

    offline

    I don't have a 4000T so can't check the specific box, However I don't think it's a BBC issue, I have just watched Homes Under The Hammer starting about 30 mins after the live programme started on both a Samsung Android Tablet and a Humax HDR-1000S Freesat box. In both cases it worked flawlessly.

    Thu 30 Mar 2017 11:39:12 #3 |
  4. Visionman

    Visionman

    ex member
    Joined: Mar '17
    Posts: 44

    offline

    On Mon Mar 13 2017, the BBC launched a new version of the BBC iPlayer BETA (BigScreen Version: 4.6.4.2) for connected PVRs.
    Since then a few users have reported having problems using it. Most notably play, pause, play, pause, etc. It may or may not be related.

    Like Graham, I too don't have a FVP4000T and my iPlayer is also fine.
    The problem has already been reported the the BBC iPlayer team by the YV Content team and is currently under investigation.

    Thu 30 Mar 2017 12:02:16 #4 |
  5. pleasedtoview

    pleasedtoview

    junior member
    Joined: Mar '17
    Posts: 8

    offline

    Re Visionman's reply, would I be right to assume the iPlayer app is updated automatically on my FVP400T? In which case can I find out what version it is currently running?

    Thu 30 Mar 2017 12:35:14 #5 |
  6. Barry

    Barry

    administrator
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 7,472

    offline

    grahamlthompson - 1 hour ago  » 
    I don't have a 4000T so can't check the specific box, However I don't think it's a BBC issue, I have just watched Homes Under The Hammer starting about 30 mins after the live programme started on both a Samsung Android Tablet and a Humax HDR-1000S Freesat box. In both cases it worked flawlessly.

    Did exactly the same using FVP 4000T, HB 1000S and DTR T2000

    All played the whole programme without issue.

    Note units hard wire connected to network via a switch.

    Thu 30 Mar 2017 13:38:24 #6 |
  7. Barry

    Barry

    administrator
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 7,472

    offline

    pleasedtoview - 1 hour ago  » 
    Re Visionman's reply, would I be right to assume the iPlayer app is updated automatically on my FVP400T? In which case can I find out what version it is currently running?

    iplayer, Settings, Settings & Help, Help, System Information...

    Via my units:

    FVP 4000T states - BigScreen Version 4.6.6.2

    HB 1000S states - BigScreen Version 4.6.7.2

    DTR T 2000 states - BigScreen Version 4.6.7.2

    Question, how is your unit connected to your network?

    Thu 30 Mar 2017 13:44:18 #7 |
  8. pleasedtoview

    pleasedtoview

    junior member
    Joined: Mar '17
    Posts: 8

    offline

    Hi Barry/All

    My FVP4000T is saying BigScreen Version 4.6.6.2

    It is wired connected to my Virgin Media Hub3.

    Thu 30 Mar 2017 15:20:32 #8 |
  9. Barry

    Barry

    administrator
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 7,472

    offline

    pleasedtoview - 1 hour ago  » 
    Hi Barry/All
    My FVP4000T is saying BigScreen Version 4.6.6.2
    It is wired connected to my Virgin Media Hub3.

    I trialled the Hub 3 but returned it because internet connection to PC kept dropping out, and despite help from support team the reason could not be found. Hub 2 works perfectly.

    As both myself and Graham did not have an issue, you may have to look into Hub 3 settings, or maybe you have stumbled upon similar problem I had with it.

    Edit: Tried further replication of problem by temp disconnecting internet to FVP whilst using iplayer but it just restarts where it left off.

    Thu 30 Mar 2017 16:59:50 #9 |
  10. Visionman

    Visionman

    ex member
    Joined: Mar '17
    Posts: 44

    offline

    pleasedtoview, just for test purposes, if you still have your Super Hub 2, try the iPlayer with that.

    Thu 30 Mar 2017 17:33:46 #10 |

RSS feed for this topic

Reply »

You must log in to post.