My Humax Forum » Freeview SD » PVR 9150T, 9200T, 9300T

Replacing Hard drive on 9300T

(4 posts)
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

fozzie bear

My 83 year old father has a 9300T which has been working fine until recently. However now when he switches the recorder on, the Recording Schedule icon, normally at the top of the list, is missing from the menu. Also when he powers on it asks if he wishes to format the hard drive.
    I emailed Humax technical support and as I suspected they said it was likely a hard drive failure.
    I am an IT engineer so used to changing and preparing hard drives etc. but never opened up a Humax so a few quick questions please:-
    1) Is the internal drive EIDE or SATA. If the latter is it SATA I or II (probably to old to be III).
    2) If SATA I will the later vII or vIII drives work OK or is the 9300T finicky about drives? If not I was considering the WD Red drives which are designed for 24 x 7 operation.
    3) I assume the OS on these boxes is some sort of Linux distro. Is the OS actually on the drive or held in NVram?
    4) Can the system format a new unpartitioned drive or do I need to run a linux Live CD and partition and format the drive first?
    5) I have read on these forums about a command line utility which can run on Windows to copy recordings but ideally unless the drive is completely shot would like to copy them to the new drive. Is this fairly easy to do from a Linux live CD?
    Ps I am aware of the warninsg about the open frame switching power supply so will be very careful when working on this box.

Many thanks
    Fozzie

| Thu 6 Nov 2014 17:29:42 #1 |
  2. User has not uploaded an avatar

Martin Liddle

special member

fozzie bear - 1 hour ago  » 
    I emailed Humax technical support and as I suspected they said it was likely a hard drive failure.

I assume that actually formatting the drive achieves nothing? If that is the case then I agree this is a classic case of hard drive failure.