My Humax Forum » Freesat HD » FOXSAT HDR

Upgrading HDD

(19 posts)
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Alloneword

    senior member
    Joined: Sep '12
    Posts: 91

    offline

    Yea the partitioning and formatting has been done it's just having an issue with creating folder, but i'm sure i read hear that you need to type something before the command to give you admin rights to do it so come back here to re-read the posts and have another go

    All1

    Fri 18 Nov 2016 11:16:24 #11 |
  2. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 7,373

    offline

    Alloneword - 10 minutes ago  » 
    Yea the partitioning and formatting has been done it's just having an issue with creating folder, but i'm sure i read hear that you need to type something before the command to give you admin rights to do it so come back here to re-read the posts and have another go
    All1

    https://linuxacademy.com/blog/linux/linux-commands-for-beginners-sudo/

    Fri 18 Nov 2016 11:26:54 #12 |
  3. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Alloneword

    senior member
    Joined: Sep '12
    Posts: 91

    offline

    Thanks for the help so far guys i have been able to partition and format to ext3 on all 4 partitions, I was under the impression that i would loose everything I had recorded but having read some threads here am i right in thinking if i plug both my old drive and new drive into a linux machine i could copy the old movies across and is it just the ts files i copy from old drive to the new one?

    All1

    Sat 19 Nov 2016 12:30:22 #13 |
  4. REPASSAC

    REPASSAC

    special member
    Joined: Mar '11
    Posts: 3,171

    offline

    Copy all of the files on /dev/sdc3 to the new drive.
    The sidecar files are necessary for the Foxsat.

    Sat 19 Nov 2016 12:35:25 #14 |
  5. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 7,373

    offline

    Alloneword - 36 minutes ago  » 
    Thanks for the help so far guys i have been able to partition and format to ext3 on all 4 partitions, I was under the impression that i would loose everything I had recorded but having read some threads here am i right in thinking if i plug both my old drive and new drive into a linux machine i could copy the old movies across and is it just the ts files i copy from old drive to the new one?
    All1

    You can also use the old drive in a sata usb cradle and watch them direct from usb and copy them back if you wish. And you can also use it as a archive device.

    eg

    http://www.maplin.co.uk/p/25-inch-and-35-inch-sata-usb-dock-a83hq?cmpid=ppc&gclid=CjwKEAiAjcDBBRCJxouz9fWHynwSJADaJg9BiQrimD3wauEKCQAZRKGn8Txfj64cntOdStUElFj2CRoCHBDw_wcB

    Sat 19 Nov 2016 13:09:14 #15 |
  6. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Alloneword

    senior member
    Joined: Sep '12
    Posts: 91

    offline

    .

    Sun 20 Nov 2016 21:24:27 #16 |
  7. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Alloneword

    senior member
    Joined: Sep '12
    Posts: 91

    offline

    Well it looks like i MAY have got there in the end, but i have no idea how if i'm honest if you could take a look at the image and let me know if it looks ok?

    I did have one of those Maplin docks hanging around and tried that but it failed for some reason so i took apart and old external USB2 Buffulo case and dropped the pipeline in to that and moved the movies across and after MANY hours it seems to work, as in i can see the old movies and play them, is there a sure fire way to make sure i have done it right apart from using it by taping a few things?

    I have to say a huge thanks for sticking with me i must have been a real pain in the backside, so thanks guys.

    All1

    I see with amount remaining it does not say TB only GB but i presume that is no issue.

    Sun 20 Nov 2016 21:30:47 #17 |
  8. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 7,373

    offline

    Alloneword - 56 minutes ago  » 
    Well it looks like i MAY have got there in the end, but i have no idea how if i'm honest if you could take a look at the image and let me know if it looks ok?

    I did have one of those Maplin docks hanging around and tried that but it failed for some reason so i took apart and old external USB2 Buffulo case and dropped the pipeline in to that and moved the movies across and after MANY hours it seems to work, as in i can see the old movies and play them, is there a sure fire way to make sure i have done it right apart from using it by taping a few things?
    I have to say a huge thanks for sticking with me i must have been a real pain in the backside, so thanks guys.
    All1
    I see with amount remaining it does not say TB only GB but i presume that is no issue.

    As you say the numbers do not add up but suspect that's down to the lack of support for 2TB drives in the box itself.

    Never used anything larger than a 1TB in a Foxsat-HDR, but the remaining recording time looks good. Suggest you record the longest HD programme you can find (shame you missed Children In Need) and look at the amount left.

    Also it has been reported that if you record lots of small programmes that the time to display the media list can get very slow.

    No pain in the backside, it helps others trying to do similar.

    Sun 20 Nov 2016 22:33:43 #18 |
  9. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Alloneword

    senior member
    Joined: Sep '12
    Posts: 91

    offline

    No problems i can just record a normal HD channel and instead of making it run for an hour i'll just auto the end date, as for little shows it will be for movies 95% of the time so should not have too much to worry about, once again thanks everyone.

    All1

    Sun 20 Nov 2016 23:40:09 #19 |

RSS feed for this topic

Reply

You must log in to post.