My Humax Forum » Freeview HD » FVP 4000T, FVP 5000T

5000T set up

(27 posts)
  1. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 9,192

    offline

    101 BBC 1 HD, 102 BBC 2 HD, 103 ITV-HD, 104 Channel 4 HD, 105 Channel 5 HD plus others if you have COM 7 and COM 8.

    106 BBC Four HD
    107 BBC News HD
    108 Al Jazeera English HD
    109 Channel 4 +1 HD
    110 4seven HD
    111 QVC +1 HD
    112 QVC Beauty HD
    113 Russia Today UK HD

    You need to follow the manual tune procedure.

    All DVB-T except DVB-T2 for PSD 3, COM 7 and COM 8

    Tue 12 Jun 2018 11:56:26 #21 |
  2. User has not uploaded an avatar

    woldsweather

    junior member
    Joined: Jun '18
    Posts: 15

    offline

    None of them asre there so will have to reset and go manual again.

    Tue 12 Jun 2018 12:21:55 #22 |
  3. User has not uploaded an avatar

    woldsweather

    junior member
    Joined: Jun '18
    Posts: 15

    offline

    Have followed Humax instructions as per an email and will paste them below. I still have 0 channels found on channels 23, 31, 37

    • Press the Home/Freeview play button on the remote
    • Using the directional buttons move up and select Settings
    • Select System Settings then Factory Default
    • Choose Reset All Settings with the OK button
    • Select ‘YES’
    • Enter Password 0000
    • The unit will restart, please allow up to 2 minutes for this to happen
    • Please choose your preferred language
    • Choose Next
    • Select Next and stop the automatic search before any channels are found
    • When presented with the message 'Do you want to stop the search?' select YES
    • Please choose your Internet Connection Method
    • Select Next on confirmation Screen
    • Select "I agree to the privacy policy" and press OK
    • Select "I agree to the terms and conditions" and press OK
    • Select your "Power Saving In Standby" preference and press OK
    • Then select Next and press OK
    • Then choose Exit
    • Software check will take place - Please allow 2-3 minutes
    • Once finished scroll through the onscreen guide and press OK on the last screen
    • When given the message that no channels are available press the OK button,
    • Select manual channel search and press OK
    • Select Channel and enter a channel number from the list below:
    Please see the following numbers for your local transmitter.

    Channel 26
    Channel 29
    Channel 43
    Channel 46
    Channel 40

    When tuning HD Channels please select transmission and change this to DVB-T2.

    Channel HD 23
    Channel HD 31
    Channel HD 37
    • You will need to carry out the manual tune procedure for each one of these numbers
    • Once you have completed the search and saved the results for all channel numbers please press the exit button, this completes the manual tune.

    Thu 14 Jun 2018 21:22:59 #23 |
  4. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 9,192

    offline

    When you selected 23 31 and 37 and DVB-T2 what signal strength and quality was shown ? If you didn't notice simply select manual tune DVB-T2 and manual tune and each in turn. If you get a strength and quality and then scan, how many channels does the box find on each of the above. I think you may fallen foul of a bug I found in manual tune.

    I got all the channels after switching transmitters but they failed to save properly.

    I seem to have discovered a very strange bug in smart retune.

    Having a spare Vision log 36 I decided to see if I could get Com 7 and 8 from Sutton Coldfield. Having connected it I did a smart retune without issue, however signal strengths aren't as good as Lark Stoke and there's not a sniff of COM 7 and 8, so I reconnected the Lark Stoke aerial.

    Smart retune found the usual 145 channels. After saving the box reports no or low signal on PSB 1 and 2. Quick check showed 87% signal 100% quality on both. Tried a manual scan which found the channels without issue.

    After saving still no signal reported. A full auto retune worked fine but I did of course have to re-enter the schedule, losing the one I was watching to see if it auto-deleted.

    One thing you can try is fit a variable TV attenuator and find the point you can reduce the signal level on the above mux frequencies and still get 100% quality. Now try a auto retune.

    Thu 14 Jun 2018 21:51:26 #24 |
  5. User has not uploaded an avatar

    woldsweather

    junior member
    Joined: Jun '18
    Posts: 15

    offline

    I get no channels and I don't see signal strength mentioned under each channel. I don't know what COM 7 and 8 are?

    Thu 14 Jun 2018 22:17:05 #25 |
  6. User has not uploaded an avatar

    woldsweather

    junior member
    Joined: Jun '18
    Posts: 15

    offline

    Just had another look and under all channels HD and none HD it says signal strength and quality 0

    Thu 14 Jun 2018 22:21:41 #26 |
  7. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 9,192

    offline

    woldsweather - 12 minutes ago  » 
    I get no channels and I don't see signal strength mentioned under each channel. I don't know what COM 7 and 8 are?

    Think you are confusing logical channel numbers (lcn) with UHF channels used to deliver the content. The UHF channel is known as a MULTIPLEX (shortened to Mux), this has all the main HD channels mixed together (Multiplexed).

    UHF channel 23 is used on Bilsdale to deliver the main PSD Multiplex carrying the 5 main HD channels. lcn 101 to 105.

    COM 7 uses UHF 31 and COM 8 uses UHF 37.

    https://ukfree.tv/transmitters/tv/Bilsdale

    You need to enter manual tune and select channel 23 and DVB-T2. What do you get at the bottom of the screen for signal strength and quality ?

    Thu 14 Jun 2018 22:39:34 #27 |

RSS feed for this topic

Reply

You must log in to post.