My Humax Forum » Freeview HD » YouView DTR-T

DTR T10x0 successful repair

(30 posts)
  1. andyfras

    andyfras

    senior member
    Joined: Nov '15
    Posts: 80

    offline

    I have just successfully repaired one of these. It was stuck in standby.

    The problem is not the PSU board as commonly supposed, but the 10 x 220uF 16V through-hole capacitors on the mainboard. These are the notoriously unreliable Sam Young type which seem to last only until the end of the warranty. All 10 were significantly out of specification.

    On this model, and several others in the Humax line-up, the main PSU (internal or external) only supplies 12V. The other required voltages are generated on the mainboard

    Sat 20 Feb 2016 14:13:07 #1 |
  2. User has not uploaded an avatar

    fedman1

    special member
    Joined: Dec '13
    Posts: 123

    offline

    Ah, you don't lose the old skills Andy!
    Les

    Sat 20 Feb 2016 17:50:32 #2 |
  3. MontysEvilTwin

    MontysEvilTwin

    special member
    Joined: Jan '14
    Posts: 240

    offline

    Interesting. I have a couple of 'please wait' DTR-T1000s which I bought cheaply for spares. By swapping around components, I thought that the problem was on the main board, but didn't know what I could do to fix it. Out of interest, I have ordered some new caps and I will replace the Samyoung ones on the board of one of the units to see if that fixes it. I ordered Rubycon ZLH series capacitors (rated for 6000h at 105°C): did I make a good choice?
    The HDR-FOX T2 (revised edition) also uses the same 12V only PSU, but is generally a much more reliable unit than the DTR-T1000. I do have one of these which is not in use, because it tends to freeze when it comes out of standby. I know it is a problem related to the main board. This unit also has the same Samyoung capacitors, but only five, not ten, of them. I am tempted to replace these too to see what happens.

    Mon 22 Feb 2016 14:11:13 #3 |
  4. andyfras

    andyfras

    senior member
    Joined: Nov '15
    Posts: 80

    offline

    MontysEvilTwin I ordered Rubycon ZLH series capacitors (rated for 6000h at 105°C): did I make a good choice?

    I used Rubycon YXF ones, but I'm sure that the ZLH range will work just as well. I'm ordering some Panasonic FR ones for any future repairs or kits.

    Mon 22 Feb 2016 15:18:09 #4 |
  5. MontysEvilTwin

    MontysEvilTwin

    special member
    Joined: Jan '14
    Posts: 240

    offline

    andyfras - 1 hour ago  » 

    MontysEvilTwin I ordered Rubycon ZLH series capacitors (rated for 6000h at 105°C): did I make a good choice?

    I used Rubycon YXF ones, but I'm sure that the ZLH range will work just as well. I'm ordering some Panasonic FR ones for any future repairs or kits.

    Not being an expert it is hard to know what to pick. I know that Rubycon is a generally regarded as a good brand: I get the impression that it is best to use Japanese components, like Rubycon, Nichicon and Panasonic. On the Farnell website there were eight different series to choose from (Rubycon, 220μF, 16V). A couple were a lot more expensive (probably for higher end audio products) and a couple were cheap, but were only rated at 2000h/ 105°C. This left about four caps of similar spec. and price. I guess that the differences between these are quite subtle.

    Mon 22 Feb 2016 16:38:29 #5 |
  6. tellboy

    tellboy

    member
    Joined: Jan '13
    Posts: 28

    offline

    Any Chance of a location picture if it is just a soldering iron fix ?
    Something I would like to add to my repair file

    Sun 28 Feb 2016 13:17:02 #6 |
  7. MontysEvilTwin

    MontysEvilTwin

    special member
    Joined: Jan '14
    Posts: 240

    offline

    I've marked the capacitors with asterisks. The photo resolution is not great due to the forum size limit.

    Attachments

    1. DTR-T1000_caps.jpg (37.4 KB, 44 downloads) 3 years old
    Sun 28 Feb 2016 18:02:30 #7 |
  8. Baggers59

    Baggers59

    new member
    Joined: Mar '16
    Posts: 3

    offline

    I tried this fix for mine although my one has slightly different symptoms. I get no light on the front of the box, only the ethernet port lights come on. All the capacitors that I switched out were within 10% of what they should be and there seems to be a steady 12v coming from the power supply. I did get it to turn on once afterwards but when I put it back into energy saver mode it failed again. Anyone got any other suggestions?

    Sun 13 Mar 2016 6:54:34 #8 |
  9. andyfras

    andyfras

    senior member
    Joined: Nov '15
    Posts: 80

    offline

    When you say that the capacitors you removed were within 10%, presumably you mean of their rated capacitance? The key measurement is ESR (Equivalent Series Resistance) which requires a specialist meter.

    On the one I repaired, I did notice that one of the 10uF surface mount capacitors, bottom left of the picture above, was also out of specification, but I didn't think that was the cause of the problem (I changed it anyway).

    What capacitors did you use? They need to be low ESR versions, so ones from Maplin for instance are probably not good enough.

    Sun 13 Mar 2016 9:42:40 #9 |
  10. Baggers59

    Baggers59

    new member
    Joined: Mar '16
    Posts: 3

    offline

    I used these: Panasonic EEU-FR1C221

    Sun 13 Mar 2016 19:49:13 #10 |

RSS feed for this topic

Reply »

You must log in to post.