FVP-5000T Anomaly « My Humax Forum

My Humax Forum » Freeview HD » FVP 4000T, FVP 5000T

FVP-5000T Anomaly

(20 posts)
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

    clive59

    junior member
    Joined: Dec '18
    Posts: 9

    offline

    The tv is a 32" Evsham HDMI. It's about 15 years old now. Fantastic tv, it just keeps rolling on.

    Thu 20 Dec 2018 22:48:38 #11 |
  2. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 9,987

    online

    clive59 - 1 minute ago  » 
    The tv is a 32" Evsham HDMI. It's about 15 years old now. Fantastic tv, it just keeps rolling on.

    Can't say I have ever heard of it, suspect it's far too old to support modern digital TV standards. That age would be long before EICTA created the EU HD Ready Specs.

    Is it by any chance a Plasma display ? If so it might be a now very rare true 720p display. If so choose 720p as the output to try.

    Start by setting 576i that most any TV with a digital input should support. If that doesn't work you will have to go back to the box analogue outputs and the very poor picture quality that will create.

    Does the TV have scart inputs and are any of them RGB capable.

    Thu 20 Dec 2018 23:08:01 #12 |
  3. User has not uploaded an avatar

    clive59

    junior member
    Joined: Dec '18
    Posts: 9

    offline

    Yes it has scart inputs. How do I know if they are RGB capable?

    Fri 21 Dec 2018 17:20:16 #13 |
  4. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 9,987

    online

    clive59 - 17 minutes ago  » 
    Yes it has scart inputs. How do I know if they are RGB capable?

    It's normally marked on the socket generally AV1. Does it also have component inputs (3 RCA sockets Usually Yellow Blue and Green plus a audio input often a 3.5mm stereo socket.

    If so this might help. Without a detailed spec for the TV it's hard to be sure

    https://www.amazon.co.uk/Component-YPbPr-Audio-Video-Converter/dp/B00622MA6W

    If it's this one

    https://www.reevoo.com/p/evesham-32-lcd-tv-with-hdmi

    or this one

    https://www.hexus.net/ce/reviews/audio-visual/5430-evesham-technology-v32emro-ze3-32-inch-lcd-tv-review/?page=2

    then try setting 1080i as the output if that's an issue try 720p

    Fri 21 Dec 2018 17:46:55 #14 |
  5. User has not uploaded an avatar

    clive59

    junior member
    Joined: Dec '18
    Posts: 9

    offline

    I may need a new tv.

    Fri 21 Dec 2018 19:20:27 #15 |
  6. User has not uploaded an avatar

    SSThing

    special member
    Joined: Nov '15
    Posts: 213

    online

    clive59 - 1 minute ago  » 
    I may need a new tv.

    Treat yourself.
    TV screen technology has advanced massively since you purchased your current set. You will be both thrilled and amazed by the clarity and colours when watching nature documentaries and such. Even at the entry level you will appreciate the improvements. If you stick to Sony/Samsung/LG/Panasonic, you can't go wrong.
    Merry Xmas.

    Fri 21 Dec 2018 19:29:25 #16 |
  7. User has not uploaded an avatar

    clive59

    junior member
    Joined: Dec '18
    Posts: 9

    offline

    That 1st Evesham looks like mine.

    Fri 21 Dec 2018 19:31:33 #17 |
  8. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 9,987

    online

    clive59 - 2 hours ago  » 
    That 1st Evesham looks like mine.

    It's HD ready set so should be perfectly capable of handling a 1080i HDMI source albeit at a slightly lower resolution. With a 32" set you are unlikely to notice any difference. Change the output to 1080i and give it a try.

    Fri 21 Dec 2018 21:49:56 #18 |
  9. User has not uploaded an avatar

    clive59

    junior member
    Joined: Dec '18
    Posts: 9

    offline

    Tried a new cable tried a lower resolution but it still blanks out and throws up the message but it varies depending on what we're watching. I'm worried that a new tv may not resolve the problem. Humax think the box is okay and that the issue lies somewhere else, i.e. the tv.

    Tue 25 Dec 2018 21:46:01 #19 |
  10. prking

    prking

    member
    Joined: Sep '15
    Posts: 32

    offline

    SSThing - 4 days ago  » 

    clive59 - 1 minute ago  » 
    I may need a new tv.

    Treat yourself.
    TV screen technology has advanced massively since you purchased your current set. You will be both thrilled and amazed by the clarity and colours when watching nature documentaries and such. Even at the entry level you will appreciate the improvements. If you stick to Sony/Samsung/LG/Panasonic, you can't go wrong.
    Merry Xmas.

    Those Evesham TVs were rebadges. Any modern TV will give a substantially improved picture.

    I am sure that the TV is the issue here. The message isn't being generated by the Humax. The solution would be an analogue connection (which won't be appreciably worse on that panel) or a new TV.

    Wed 26 Dec 2018 11:03:29 #20 |

RSS feed for this topic

Reply

You must log in to post.