My Humax Forum » Freeview HD » FVP 4000T, 5000T

FVP5000T Series Recording & Region Selection

(10 posts)
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

    poshsimon

    member
    Joined: Oct '19
    Posts: 48

    offline

    I discovered something going on with series recording and only just noticed why there's a problem.

    I've set a test series recording to prove this is happening.
    BBC1 "Morning Live" is on every day. Set to series record. All well and good.
    When reviewing the recordings I see that some, almost every other one, is a failed recording indicating inadequate signal. At first I thought we'd lost signal, but then I noticed that it's trying to record from Crystal Palace (London).

    OK, so, we have a poor signal from London, and had set "South" as our region. When viewing live tv it is all fine. If I tune to the 800 channels I see the London services.

    When I set the recording, I take special care to set it to the 101 channel for South, yet the box will randomly record London, and fail.

    Any ideas?
    Thanks in advance.

    | Thu 16 Jun 2022 18:20:57 #1 |
  2. Luke

    Luke

    special member
    Joined: Apr '11
    Posts: 1,336

    offline

    To remove any ambiguity which can, and does occur, tune to just one transmitter.

    There is a FAQ on how to do this
    https://myhumax.org/forum/topic/manual-tuning-instructions-1

    | Thu 16 Jun 2022 21:54:38 #2 |
  3. User has not uploaded an avatar

    A1944

    special member
    Joined: Dec '17
    Posts: 853

    offline

    Before you clear the existing channels, before doing the manual tuning, take a few moments to photograph your schedule lists to help you re-establish it when you have finished retuning.

    Do you know which "South" transmitter you need to use? Rowridge or Midhurst perhaps.

    You should not have any 800 range channels at all.

    | Thu 16 Jun 2022 22:48:20 #3 |
  4. User has not uploaded an avatar

    niknak

    senior member
    Joined: Oct '20
    Posts: 56

    offline

    Personally I always make sure I delete any 800 channels that my set captures during a retune.

    | Fri 17 Jun 2022 8:38:55 #4 |
  5. User has not uploaded an avatar

    EEPhil

    special member
    Joined: Oct '14
    Posts: 215

    offline

    If you use the manual tuning method in the FAQ that Luke linked to in post #2 there should be no channels in the 800s. The trouble with channels in the 800s is that these can be either from the best transmitter or the worst one, or even a mixture. Rather than delete them, don't let them get there in the first place.

    | Fri 17 Jun 2022 10:43:08 #5 |
  6. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Martin Liddle

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 4,092

    offline

    EEPhil - 52 mins ago  » 
    don't let them get there in the first place.

    Absolutely agree.

    | Fri 17 Jun 2022 11:36:25 #6 |
  7. User has not uploaded an avatar

    poshsimon

    member
    Joined: Oct '19
    Posts: 48

    offline

    A1944 - 13 hours ago  » 
    Before you clear the existing channels, before doing the manual tuning, take a few moments to photograph your schedule lists to help you re-establish it when you have finished retuning.
    Do you know which "South" transmitter you need to use? Rowridge or Midhurst perhaps.
    You should not have any 800 range channels at all.

    I believe it's Hannington, based upon the antenna direction, and the proximity. The London (Crystal Palace) is off the back of the antenna. It was never a particularly good signal, but both are better since analogue was shut down.

    Thanks for the tip about photographing the schedules.

    | Fri 17 Jun 2022 11:59:53 #7 |
  8. User has not uploaded an avatar

    poshsimon

    member
    Joined: Oct '19
    Posts: 48

    offline

    Luke - 14 hours ago  » 
    To remove any ambiguity which can, and does occur, tune to just one transmitter.
    There is a FAQ on how to do this
    https://myhumax.org/forum/topic/manual-tuning-instructions-1

    I shall study that when I get the chance, thank you.

    | Fri 17 Jun 2022 12:00:33 #8 |
  9. User has not uploaded an avatar

    poshsimon

    member
    Joined: Oct '19
    Posts: 48

    offline

    Thanks all, it's very useful information. It's odd that this started a few month back, so i'll need to investigate based on all the replies.

    | Fri 17 Jun 2022 12:01:53 #9 |
  10. User has not uploaded an avatar

    A1944

    special member
    Joined: Dec '17
    Posts: 853

    offline

    If you are correct about it being Hannington, then the UHF channel numbers you need for the main six multiplexes (Mux) are:
    45 DVB-T
    42 DVB-T
    39 DVB-T2
    40 DVB-T
    43 DVB-T
    46 DVB-T

    There are also two DVB-T Local Mux on 32 and 34.

    To confirm that it is Hannington before you start, you can check the signal levels using the 4000T/5000T (BBC1 should show Ch 45, ITV should show 42 and BBC1 HD 39).

    Don't bother retuning UHF Ch 55 (COM7) as it is due to close in a few days.

    ====

    It may have started at some point when you did a retune. The setup may have changed from how it had been.

    | Fri 17 Jun 2022 13:09:42 #10 |

RSS feed for this topic

Reply

You must log in to post.