HDR 1100s won't play Youtube video at 1080p? « My Humax Forum

My Humax Forum » Freesat HD » HDR 1000/1010/1100S

HDR 1100s won't play Youtube video at 1080p?

(13 posts)
  1. AANDYY

    AANDYY

    member
    Joined: Aug '11
    Posts: 22

    offline

    Hi, my newish HDR 1100s won't play Youtube video at 1080p?

    I've tried adjusting quality on the playing video but it's max is 720.

    Looked in settings in the app, nowt there.

    The app also seems a little sluggish whilst navigating.

    Reset the app also.

    Unit is connected via a short Cat 5E cable to Virgin 50Mb service.

    Wed 26 Dec 2018 19:53:06 #1 |
  2. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 10,177

    offline

    What content are you trying to play ? Some of the on demand services adjust the quality according to your available download speed.

    What download speed do you get with speed test is it actually 50 Mbps ?

    Are you sure the content is 1080p at source ?

    What TV are you using to play back content ? During the HDMI handshake if it reports it can't do 1080p the box will reduce the resolution to the best quality the TV/display reports it can use.

    If it's a former HD Ready design it will not support 1080p content (best is 1080i 1920 x 1080 interlaced 50 fields/second or 720p (1280 x 720 at 50 fps).

    A lot of Youtube content isn't HD at source.

    Wed 26 Dec 2018 21:04:57 #2 |
  3. AANDYY

    AANDYY

    member
    Joined: Aug '11
    Posts: 22

    offline

    Hi, thanks for the reply.

    TV is 1080 compliant, the 1100s plays recorded/live 1080 stuff fine.

    My 50mbps is good to, speedtest.net always reports just over 50mbps and 3mbps up.

    My simple cheap media box plays 1080 stuff fine on my TV.

    The Youtube content I test it on is 1080 as checked on my laptop/phone and media box all play at 1080 on them.

    It's a wierd one!

    Wed 26 Dec 2018 21:55:28 #3 |
  4. AANDYY

    AANDYY

    member
    Joined: Aug '11
    Posts: 22

    offline


    Wed 26 Dec 2018 22:04:24 #4 |
  5. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 10,177

    offline

    AANDYY - 14 minutes ago  » 
    Hi, thanks for the reply.
    TV is 1080 compliant, the 1100s plays recorded/live 1080 stuff fine.
    My 50mbps is good to, speedtest.net always reports just over 50mbps and 3mbps up.
    My simple cheap media box plays 1080 stuff fine on my TV.
    The Youtube content I test it on is 1080 as checked on my laptop/phone and media box all play at 1080 on them.

    It's a wierd one!

    There is no live 1080p content on a Freesat box, all HD content is 1080i on a satellite box Netflix will give you a 1080p source (generally 1080p24).

    Only Freeview-HD has some progressive content which can be 1080i ( 25 fps) or 1080p25

    Blu-ray will usuallybe 1080p24.

    The box itself can de-interlace and frame double to create a 1080p50 output from the 1080i source.

    Need an example to determine what the source actually is.

    Wed 26 Dec 2018 22:20:08 #5 |
  6. AANDYY

    AANDYY

    member
    Joined: Aug '11
    Posts: 22

    offline

    Thanks Graham.

    Youtube link.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zEp4GjcXy3o

    Wed 26 Dec 2018 22:24:30 #6 |
  7. AANDYY

    AANDYY

    member
    Joined: Aug '11
    Posts: 22

    offline

    Tried adjusting Humax display setting from 1080p to 1080i.
    Youtube app still plays at 720.

    Wed 26 Dec 2018 22:29:53 #7 |
  8. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 10,177

    offline

    AANDYY - 2 minutes ago  » 
    Thanks Graham.
    Youtube link.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zEp4GjcXy3o

    I will try and have a look at what the actual video is and also see if my HDR-1000S reports 1080p when played back tomorrow. Mine is set to convert all input to 1080p50.

    I can also connect my 1080p laptop to my TV to see what the TV reports.

    Wed 26 Dec 2018 22:31:32 #8 |
  9. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 10,177

    offline

    AANDYY - 2 minutes ago  » 
    Tried adjusting Humax display setting from 1080p to 1080i.
    Youtube app still plays at 720.

    Very strange - it should scale the input to your settings. I take it that that you are using the built in Youtube app on the box ?

    Is it any different if you set up playback using a smartphone or tablet and pass the stream to your box using the TV icon ?

    Wed 26 Dec 2018 22:36:21 #9 |
  10. AANDYY

    AANDYY

    member
    Joined: Aug '11
    Posts: 22

    offline

    No change, tried all that earlier before resetting the app and trying as a 'guest'.

    https://drive.google.com/open?id=1XXOsA_32Vk5zkfpbHK7eSMoSVRdSyjj-

    https://drive.google.com/open?id=1s10-a49LB9CANnWM_vfDUZVGka2_6zPb

    Also I'm using the inbuilt Humax Youtube app.

    Wed 26 Dec 2018 22:48:07 #10 |

RSS feed for this topic

Reply »

You must log in to post.