Humax FVP 4000T failed recordings. « My Humax Forum

My Humax Forum » Freeview HD » FVP 4000T, FVP 5000T

Humax FVP 4000T failed recordings.

(18 posts)
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

    BobF

    new member
    Joined: Aug '16
    Posts: 3

    offline

    Every time we go away for more than 2/3 days all our recordings show failed - power interupt/power failed.
    I have a separate recorder on another TV and that shows no power failures which makes me think that the HUmax is powering completely off and not allowing recordings.. Any help would be appreciated.

    Tue 2 Aug 2016 10:38:24 #1 |
  2. Barry

    Barry

    administrator
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 8,712

    offline

    Welcome to our Forum

    Do these failed recordings actually playback ok?

    Tue 2 Aug 2016 10:52:05 #2 |
  3. User has not uploaded an avatar

    BobF

    new member
    Joined: Aug '16
    Posts: 3

    offline

    No they show as a faded out grey box . Also shows pore failed

    Tue 2 Aug 2016 12:17:07 #3 |
  4. User has not uploaded an avatar

    JohnH77

    special member
    Joined: Dec '15
    Posts: 380

    offline

    Are you sure that you are getting a signal through to the aerial socket?

    Is the Humax "last in the chain" and an earlier device is in standby and therefore not passing the signal to it? I know that the 400T has the option of allowing, or not allowing, the signal to passthroutgh it when it is in standby - perhaps another box is doing it.

    It's easy to test. Let the Humax go into standby. Remove the aerial lead. Wait until a scheduled recording has taken place.

    What happened?

    Tue 2 Aug 2016 12:57:26 #4 |
  5. User has not uploaded an avatar

    BobF

    new member
    Joined: Aug '16
    Posts: 3

    offline

    All recordings work fine. It appears that when we are home obviously we power the Humax. On everyday. When we are not at home theHumax is in standby. So I guess it must be powering down?

    So the airiel is connected and working fine.

    Tue 2 Aug 2016 15:07:45 #5 |
  6. REPASSAC

    REPASSAC

    special member
    Joined: Mar '11
    Posts: 3,708

    offline

    All Humax PVR's are designed to be left in standby and to auto wake before a recording is due.
    I don't know your unit but many of Humax PVR's do boot-up checks for channel changes etc which, if you leave it on and disable auto standby, will be missed.

    Tue 2 Aug 2016 15:46:11 #6 |
  7. User has not uploaded an avatar

    JohnH77

    special member
    Joined: Dec '15
    Posts: 380

    offline

    So the airiel is connected and working fine.

    What happened when you did the test I suggested?

    Tue 2 Aug 2016 17:31:30 #7 |
  8. User has not uploaded an avatar

    TrancePants

    member
    Joined: Jul '12
    Posts: 13

    offline

    I have the same issue. It's fricking annoying!
    If I don't physically power it on each day all the recordings fail, I also have to pull the power cable to be able to get it to power on.

    Sun 23 Dec 2018 12:11:42 #8 |
  9. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 9,987

    online

    TrancePants - 5 hours ago  » 
    I have the same issue. It's fricking annoying!
    If I don't physically power it on each day all the recordings fail, I also have to pull the power cable to be able to get it to power on.

    Set a power on timer on BBC1-HD at 07:00 Volume 10 daily and a matching power off timer at 07:15

    Sun 23 Dec 2018 17:22:19 #9 |
  10. User has not uploaded an avatar

    TrancePants

    member
    Joined: Jul '12
    Posts: 13

    offline

    I've set a timer as you suggested. Hopefully it'll work as it's the last chance for the 4000t before it get smashed up! It's been driving my crazy since it had that update to bring some of the 5000t features, maybe that's the problem?

    Any suggestions for a freeview recorder that just works?
    Panasonic ?

    Mon 24 Dec 2018 15:29:33 #10 |

RSS feed for this topic

Reply »

You must log in to post.