My Humax Forum » Freesat HD » HDR 1000, 1010, 1100S

Spoiler Alert needed when no free tuners

(10 posts)
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

barkside

I've been using my HDR1100S for several months and it is great (much more reliable than my old media center setup). However I have one major annoyance. If both tuners are busy recording something, and one of the following things happen:

1) I turn the box on.
    2) I finish or stop a recording playback.
    3) I exit an on-demand service.

the box then tunes to one of the recordings that is taking place. Obviously this can spoil the plot of a film, or TV series, especially if I am currently many episodes behind live. Very very annoying - not something you get when using Windows MCE or Kodi etc!

Not sure of the best solution - either quickly find remote, and bring up TV guide and hit mute? I reckon the box should just show some recording dialog over black screen or something...

Anyone else annoyed by this?

| Mon 5 Sep 2016 15:16:06 #1 |
  2. grahamlthompson

grahamlthompson

special member

I can think of one way to stop this but it involves a bit of extra work. Add a watch timer on one of the (up to two) transponders you are recording from on a different channel. The box will turn fully on and tune to this channel. Of course you don't have to have the TV/AV receiver on so the fact that the box is on shouldn't matter. If you are going to on demand and the box is on you can cycle through the available channels using the programme up/down keys. When you exit on demand it should return to the channel you selected.

| Mon 5 Sep 2016 16:31:30 #2 |
  3. gomezz

gomezz

special member

If turning on to watch an active recording and want to avoid spoilers I mute the AV amp first and avoid focusing on the TV set until I have brought up the Recordings list screen.

| Tue 6 Sep 2016 8:15:02 #3 |
  4. User has not uploaded an avatar

Faust

special member