My Humax Forum » Freesat HD » HDR 1000, 1010, 1100S

Subtitles not showing on certain channels

(12 posts)
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

the1fob

Hi,
    Because of deteriorating reception to the TV my mother has in her kitchen I bought her a Freesat box, she was so impressed with it she asked if I could get her one for the lounge (the reception there was better but no great shakes).
    I just bought her a Humax HDR-1100-S and it’s a lovely unit except for the fact that subtitles will not display on certain channels, the one she particularly watches is the Drama channel-162. I’ve tried a factory reset; I’ve done a software update; I’ve even tried connecting it to the TV in the kitchen (which when the Manhattan: Plaza HD – S2 unit is connected shows subtitles on Drama)
    I’m not too technically minded (I don’t really go beyond the ‘turn it off/on’ stage) and I am at a loss as what else to do. Any suggestions will be gratefully received.
    Regards

| Sat 30 Apr 2016 11:21:07 #1 |
  2. User has not uploaded an avatar

Pollensa1946

special member

My thinking has been that subs are associated with the program rather than the channel. May be wrong. In any event, what happens when you press the sub key on the R/C while watching Drama? On my 1000S on the few pgms I checked it came up with a banner saying... Subtitles ON No Data. If you're checking against the Manhattan box are you checking the exact same pgm within the same transmission slot?

| Sat 30 Apr 2016 14:04:08 #2 |
  3. User has not uploaded an avatar

Faust

special member

I use subtitles quite a bit (don't ask) and whereas the 'big five' are well served with some of the smaller channels subtitles aren't always available. As Pollensa states I think it depends on the programme i.e. were there subtitles when aired originally.