Turning off WiFi « My Humax Forum

My Humax Forum » Freeview HD » FVP 4000T, FVP 5000T

Turning off WiFi

(7 posts)
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Plancky

    new member
    Joined: Mar '19
    Posts: 3

    offline

    How do I turn off WiFi? Don’t need it and only confuses searches!

    Sun 3 Mar 2019 15:37:45 #1 |
  2. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Plancky

    new member
    Joined: Mar '19
    Posts: 3

    offline

    Should have said it’s a 5000T!

    Sun 3 Mar 2019 15:39:22 #2 |
  3. User has not uploaded an avatar

    A1944

    special member
    Joined: Dec '17
    Posts: 227

    offline

    Do you not use any catch up services like iPlayer?

    Sun 3 Mar 2019 16:52:26 #3 |
  4. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 10,115

    offline

    Plancky - 5 hours ago  » 
    Should have said it’s a 5000T!

    Not sure why - but simply change your password on your router.

    Since most of the extra functions on a G2 box use the internet, why do you wish to cripple your box in this way ?

    Sun 3 Mar 2019 21:35:50 #4 |
  5. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Plancky

    new member
    Joined: Mar '19
    Posts: 3

    offline

    Thanks guys, don’t need catchup, enough rubbish on every week as it is. Just wanted a simple enable/disable for the wi fi

    Sat 9 Mar 2019 11:35:50 #5 |
  6. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 10,115

    offline

    Don't you ever say tune to a BBC programme that has already started and you fancy watching it from the beginning. It's a one button press to do so.

    Over the last 2 or 3 weeks pretty well all BBC1 SD and HD programmes have faile to record or chopped off the beginning

    Iplayer has been the only way to view them.

    https://myhumax.org/forum/topic/current-bbc-recording-debacle

    You paid a lot of money for a box and then want to cripple it to a level where a much cheaper box would suffice.

    Sorry to me that just does not compute

    You could simply turn off DHCP on your router or even turn off WiFi completely.

    Sat 9 Mar 2019 19:23:08 #6 |
  7. User has not uploaded an avatar

    john1

    senior member
    Joined: May '17
    Posts: 97

    offline

    I understand you don't want to use the Wi-Fi features.
    However, If you turn of your internet connection,
    You Do realise you will cease to receive any Box updates, or in fact any upgrades as they are now delivered via the internet.
    A Prime example is the 4000t boxes are now on the same software as the newer 5000t box.
    Therefore any glitches you may come across now will stay with you.

    Sun 10 Mar 2019 19:21:29 #7 |

RSS feed for this topic

Reply

You must log in to post.