My Humax Forum » Freeview HD » FVP 4000T, 5000T

Using 2 FVP-5000T's

(14 posts)
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

    HughA

    member
    Joined: Nov '17
    Posts: 30

    offline

    If I have 2 FVP-5000's connected to my home network can I view HD recordings made on box 1 on box 2? Would this be more reliable than using an H3 Espresso which seems to be flakey?

    | Thu 1 Nov 2018 11:31:46 #1 |
  2. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Martin Liddle

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 3,216

    online

    HughA - 56 minutes ago  » 
    If I have 2 FVP-5000's connected to my home network can I view HD recordings made on box 1 on box 2?

    Good question and I would also like to know the answer. You can play HD content from an HDR_FOX T2 on a FVP-5000T over the network (which must mean that the FVP-5000T supports DTCP) so I think there is a reasonable chance. However you can't play FVP-5000T HD content on an HDR-FOX T2 but I wonder if this might be because the FVP requires a later version of the DTCP protocol.

    Would this be more reliable than using an H3 Espresso which seems to be flakey?

    If it works, I would expect it to be better.

    | Thu 1 Nov 2018 12:37:23 #2 |
  3. User has not uploaded an avatar

    JohnH77

    special member
    Joined: Dec '15
    Posts: 448

    offline

    HughA - 12 hours ago  » If I have 2 FVP-5000's connected to my home network can I view HD recordings made on box 1 on box 2?

    Almost certainly not.

    The licencing means that HD recordings are tied to the motherboard which recorded them.

    SD recordings are not so tied and can be viewed on other boxes.

    Why not try it and find out for yourself?

    | Thu 1 Nov 2018 23:52:44 #3 |
  4. User has not uploaded an avatar

    pigolato

    member
    Joined: Aug '18
    Posts: 40

    offline

    Don't know about the 5000T, but my two 4000Ts will play each other's recordings (SD & HD) over my network.
    Also my HD FoxT2 (with custom firmware) and Samsung TV (UE50MU6120K) will both play HD recordings from either 4000T
    HTH

    | Fri 2 Nov 2018 9:07:07 #4 |
  5. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 12,030

    offline

    JohnH77 - 9 hours ago  » 

    HughA - 12 hours ago  » If I have 2 FVP-5000's connected to my home network can I view HD recordings made on box 1 on box 2?

    Almost certainly not.
    The licencing means that HD recordings are tied to the motherboard which recorded them.
    SD recordings are not so tied and can be viewed on other boxes.
    Why not try it and find out for yourself?

    Two HDR-Fox-T2's can as both have a dtcp ip dlna client and server. As you can view all 5000T recordings on a hdr-Fox-T2 a 5000T must at least have the server only the client is in doubt.

    https://www.webopedia.com/TERM/D/DTCP_IP.html

    I imagine the op only has one and is contemplating buying a second.

    | Fri 2 Nov 2018 9:26:05 #5 |
  6. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 12,030

    offline

    pigolato - 19 minutes ago  » 
    Don't know about the 5000T, but my two 4000Ts will play each other's recordings (SD & HD) over my network.
    Also my HD FoxT2 (with custom firmware) and Samsung TV (UE50MU6120K) will both play HD recordings from either 4000T
    HTH

    As the boxes share the same software (the label on the motherboard of my early 5000T says it's a 4000T. Seems pretty certain the 5000T can also do this.

    | Fri 2 Nov 2018 9:27:56 #6 |
  7. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Martin Liddle

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 3,216

    online

    pigolato - 5 hours ago  » 
    Also my HD FoxT2 (with custom firmware) and Samsung TV (UE50MU6120K) will both play HD recordings from either 4000T

    Please can you explain the steps you are taking to play HD content from the 4000T on an HD-FOX T2? I can play SD content from an FVP-5000T without problem via DLNA. HD content is shown in the media list with an icon that looks like a segment of camera file with superimposed on top a red circle with a white diagonal line through it (which I take to be a no entry sign); attempts to play the HD content results in a 'Cannot support this file format" error message. What am I doing wrong or what are you doing differently?

    | Fri 2 Nov 2018 14:21:57 #7 |
  8. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Martin Liddle

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 3,216

    online

    grahamlthompson - 4 hours ago  » 
    As you can view all 5000T recordings on a hdr-Fox-T2 a 5000T must at least have the server only the client is in doubt.

    Can you actually play FVP-5000T HD content on an HDR-FOX T2?

    | Fri 2 Nov 2018 14:24:18 #8 |
  9. User has not uploaded an avatar

    HughA

    member
    Joined: Nov '17
    Posts: 30

    offline

    Thanks for all the replies. I want to play HD recordings made on my FVP-5000T in another room and thought a 2nd FVP-5000T might be a better solution than an H3 Espresso. A refurbished FVP-4000T at £139 might be an affordable solution.

    | Fri 2 Nov 2018 15:27:08 #9 |
  10. User has not uploaded an avatar

    HughA

    member
    Joined: Nov '17
    Posts: 30

    offline

    Duplicate post deleted.

    | Fri 2 Nov 2018 16:02:34 #10 |

RSS feed for this topic

Reply »

You must log in to post.