My Humax Forum » Freeview HD » FVP 4000T, 5000T

What's the best box?

(49 posts)
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

sirdavy

Many apologies, I'm a newb just here to ask your advice. I currently use an Humax T1000 Youview 500gb but it has become incredibly slow to navigate since the recent software update and the BBC iPlayer has just started quitting unexpectedly before playing any programmes. I need to get another box but I need some recommendations. These are my priorities:

- a cast iron iPlayer app that works and will continue to work for the next 2-3 years. (Since my Panasonic smart TV can no longer run iPlayer because of Capitalism and Inbuilt Obsolescence).
    - As little lag as possible between pressing a button on the remote and the action happening. I hate that pregnant pause waiting for the channel to change or the cursor to move around the EPG.
    - A way to access the videos on my NAS - a QNAP which currently streams to my Panasonic TV (using er...DNLA or something).
    - All the usual recording capabilities. A method to transfer them off the box would be a bonus.

The spec of the FVP-5000T would seem to fit the bill but I’m put off but reports of sluggish UI and unreliable units. What would you recommend?

| Sat 30 Dec 2017 23:06:50 #1 |
  2. Barry

Barry

senior admin

Welcome to our Forum

Have you tried a soft reset and/or maintenance mode rest on your YV unit?

See FAQ

| Sun 31 Dec 2017 10:04:22 #2 |
  3. User has not uploaded an avatar

sirdavy

Resetting the software has improved performance of the box and iPlayer seems to work now, thanks Barry!

I'd still be keen to hear what users think of the FVP-5000T.

| Tue 2 Jan 2018 10:24:30 #3 |
  4. Barry

Barry

senior admin

sirdavy - 1 day ago  » 
    Resetting the software has improved performance of the box and iPlayer seems to work now, thanks Barry!
    I'd still be keen to hear what users think of the FVP-5000T.