My Humax Forum » Freesat HD » HDR 1000/1010/1100S

All recordings lost ?

(40 posts)
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Nigel_HD

    member
    Joined: Feb '16
    Posts: 18

    offline

    When I turned on this evening, the start-up screen briefly flickered in an unusual way. I watched a live programme, then went to my recordings -- there were none ! Previously the disk was 83% full, so there was free space, but now there is nothing - and less than 1% used space. Any ideas ? Last software update 26-Jun-2017.

    Wed 27 Dec 2017 0:26:25 #1 |
  2. REPASSAC

    REPASSAC

    special member
    Joined: Mar '11
    Posts: 3,572

    online

    Put the unit in standby then remove the power for five minutes.
    Reconnect the power and wait for the unit to recover from power failure. (it will set it's clock and then may enter standby or remain on depending on what it remembers of it's previous state).
    If in standby power-on.

    Wait for unit fully powered up plus 1 minute.
    Hopefully all restored.

    Wed 27 Dec 2017 8:03:14 #2 |
  3. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Nigel_HD

    member
    Joined: Feb '16
    Posts: 18

    offline

    Thanks. Just tried this (left it 30 minutes powered off) and still no success. I've seen another thread on this 'problem', but any further hints MOST welcome.

    Wed 27 Dec 2017 9:10:40 #3 |
  4. REPASSAC

    REPASSAC

    special member
    Joined: Mar '11
    Posts: 3,572

    online

    There are two types of known problem that can be identified by differences in what is shown in the storage menu.

    What does it say in settings storage? You stated less than 1% which would indicate the very occasional missing recordings problem which normally rights itself after a power cycle.

    The other much more serious problem, which indicates a failed component is identified by the disk not being seen at all and a message asking for a disk to be fitted to record.

    Which one of these units do you have?

    Wed 27 Dec 2017 9:36:17 #4 |
  5. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Nigel_HD

    member
    Joined: Feb '16
    Posts: 18

    offline

    I have the HDR-1000s, purchased Q4/2013. 1Tb disk.
    I have not seen any message to indicate the disk is dead. It simply states <1% disk used.
    I am away from home for a few days so I have cancelled new recordings and powered the unit down. I did not want to risk starting new recordings and effectively creating a new file directory index in case this over-wrote the existing directory -- if indeed this is still recoverable. Is there any way to copy off the data from the disk via the USB port ? I have a 256Gb USB pen which could at least get some of the data off. I know this will be encrypted, but it may still be readable back off the pen.

    Wed 27 Dec 2017 23:29:41 #5 |
  6. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Andrew82

    new member
    Joined: Dec '17
    Posts: 1

    offline

    Hi, did you have any joy in resolving your issue?

    I got back from holiday yesterday and all the recordings on my Freesat box have disappeared, including my wife's Chritmas recordings, which she is not to pleased about.

    In Settings/Storage a message to "Connect a USB hard drive (HDD) to the box to be able to record programmes and pause live TV" has appeared.

    I'm guessing something has happened to the hard drive, but can't be sure.

    Any ideas on how to fix would be appreciated.

    Thanks
    Andrew

    Thu 28 Dec 2017 22:26:32 #6 |
  7. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Nigel_HD

    member
    Joined: Feb '16
    Posts: 18

    offline

    I have not yet returned home, so can't answer.
    Unfortunately, reading your comment it looks like you have a dead hard drive as hinted at by REPASSAC in post 4.

    Thu 28 Dec 2017 22:29:06 #7 |
  8. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Martin Liddle

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 2,402

    offline

    Andrew82 - 26 minutes ago  » 
    Any ideas on how to fix would be appreciated.

    Try leaving the box with the power disconnected for 24 hours.

    Thu 28 Dec 2017 22:54:03 #8 |
  9. REPASSAC

    REPASSAC

    special member
    Joined: Mar '11
    Posts: 3,572

    online

    Andrew82 - I suggest you contact Humax by Telephone.
    If in warranty they should replace.
    If out of warranty they should offer to replace for a fixed charge.

    Fri 29 Dec 2017 8:01:59 #9 |
  10. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Nigel_HD

    member
    Joined: Feb '16
    Posts: 18

    offline

    Returned home. Switched on after a complete power-off for 3 days.
    I have the dreaded:
    "Connect a USB hard drive (HDD) to the box to be able to record programmes and pause live TV"

    So it seems I have a knackered HDD (although I can still hear it powering up). There are several options.
    1 Record onto a USB pen. I have a 256Gb available.
    2 Attach a portable USB drive. Question: will the Humax provide enough power ?
    3 Replace the HDD.
    4 After (3) attempt to recover the data from the 'dead' HDD using proprietary disk recovery software.

    Advice please.

    Sat 30 Dec 2017 23:40:49 #10 |

RSS feed for this topic

Reply »

You must log in to post.