My Humax Forum » Freesat HD » HDR 1000, 1010, 1100S

All recordings lost ?

(55 posts)
  1. aldaweb

    aldaweb

    administrator
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 400

    offline

    grahamlthompson - 7 hours ago  » 
    This is possible using a digital modulator and a Freeview PVR. The Digital modulator creates a single channel DVB-T HD channel Mux using the UHF carrier of your choice. the pvr can this tune like any other HD mux. The cheaper ones don't Dolby Digital so you would have to set the box to output PCM stereo.
    https://blusas.co.uk/mho.php?loc=https://www.amazon.co.uk/Edision-HDMI-Modulator-Full-Distribution-Black/dp/B00KBXKJ2A/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&tag=blusas008-21&qid=1543148513&sr=8-2&keywords=modulator+hdmi
    Which Humax PVR do you have ?

    Be aware that the recordings may have a much larger filesize using this method than regular freeview HD recordings.
    That was certainly the case when I tried this although with a different make of HDMI modulator. It's fine for feeding an HDMI signal over coax though in DVB-T2 format.

    | Sun 25 Nov 2018 19:53:27 #51 |
  2. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 14,442

    offline

    aldaweb - 1 hour ago  » 

    grahamlthompson - 7 hours ago  » 
    This is possible using a digital modulator and a Freeview PVR. The Digital modulator creates a single channel DVB-T HD channel Mux using the UHF carrier of your choice. the pvr can this tune like any other HD mux. The cheaper ones don't Dolby Digital so you would have to set the box to output PCM stereo.
    https://blusas.co.uk/mho.php?loc=https://www.amazon.co.uk/Edision-HDMI-Modulator-Full-Distribution-Black/dp/B00KBXKJ2A/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&tag=blusas008-21&qid=1543148513&sr=8-2&keywords=modulator+hdmi
    Which Humax PVR do you have ?

    Be aware that the recordings may have a much larger filesize using this method than regular freeview HD recordings.
    That was certainly the case when I tried this although with a different make of HDMI modulator. It's fine for feeding an HDMI signal over coax though in DVB-T2 format.

    Afaik know there are no Digital modulators yet available at a reasonable price that can create a DVB-T2 modulated single channel mux.

    All of them rely on backwards DVB-T compatibility built in to DVB-T2 kit and already available in most TV's not compatible with DVB-T2 but already DVB-T HD compatible (eg TV's not Freeview-HD capable like the older HD ready models). All Freeview-HD kit is DVB-T HD capable.

    Not sure wht you mean. I imagine the modulator compresses the video using H264/AVC just like the Freeview-HD channels, The lower bitrate is a result of the enhanced capability of DVB-T2 and stat muxing of channels on the same Mux dynamically sharing the total mux capacity according to the individual channel content,

    Of course a single Mux whether DVB-T or DVB-T2 cannot use stat muxing as there is only 1 channel in the mux.

    This doesn't mean you cannot compress the recordings later using the much more efficient method of pre-scanning the content from the recording and adjusting the bitrate using VBR to produce a much more efficient file size reduction

    http://help.encoding.com/knowledge-base/article/what-is-two-pass-encoding/

    Most any Video editing software has two pass vbr output which is of course slower but produces much smaller files than the stat muxing capability within a single mux.

    Humax Freeview+ pvrs include a lot of extra data not required so the file sizes are much larger than is needed. See the CF threads on Hummmy.TV

    | Sun 25 Nov 2018 21:47:01 #52 |
  3. aldaweb

    aldaweb

    administrator
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 400

    offline

    This is the modulator I have used - Technomate&tag=blusas008-21 HDMI modulator.
    It required a DVB-T2 tuner to pick up the signal (HDR-T2 in this case). A DVB-T TV would not tune the channel. You may be correct that it is only because the Freeview HD tuners contain the necessary decoders.

    | Mon 26 Nov 2018 18:22:05 #53 |
  4. Trev

    Trev

    special member
    Joined: Apr '18
    Posts: 530

    offline

    Converts an HDMI signal into an HD digital Freeview DVB-T compatible signal

    The spec says T or T2, so it's probably T.

    | Mon 26 Nov 2018 18:34:03 #54 |
  5. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 14,442

    offline

    aldaweb - 1 hour ago  » 
    This is the modulator I have used - Technomate&tag=blusas008-21 HDMI modulator.

    It required a DVB-T2 tuner to pick up the signal (HDR-T2 in this case). A DVB-T TV would not tune the channel (incorrect) . You may be correct that it is only because the Freeview HD tuners contain the necessary decoders.

    Requires a DVB-T or DVB-T2 compatible TV. DVB-T2 kit is backwards compatible so any Humax Freeview-HD pvr should be able to tune the DVB-T single mux. There are known compatibility issues with Dolby Digital/ AAC audio. A manual tune set to DVB-T on the UHF Frequency set on the modulator for the carrier should have found the single channel.

    All DVB-T2 TV's are compatible. Pretty well all DVB-T TV's also have HD tuners as most are built to be used including the older HD-Ready designs.

    throughout Europe where DVB-T is still used for HD digital TV. The UK was amongst the first to adopt DVB-T2 for HD.

    The output is DVB-T not DVB-T2.

    t gives a DVB-T output which is sufficient to feed a number of DVB-T capable TVs (via a splitter)
    Provides RF Loop Through 50MHZ~2400MHZ with Power Pass through
    TV Must Be MPEG4 Compatible , All Freeview HD TV's appear to be, Contact TV Tech if unsure, 4G - LTE (Long Term Evolution) filtering switch ON-OFF
    HD Distribution over an Existing Coax Network, works on DVB-S DVB-C DVB-T DVB T2/S2/
    Perfect for HD Distribution in Pubs , Clubs , Conference Centre's

    My last two TV's had mpeg 4 HD tuners but not DVB-T2 capability. Of course in the UK there was no broadcast source. At that time digital modulators cost an arm and a leg.

    | Mon 26 Nov 2018 19:30:21 #55 |

RSS feed for this topic

Reply

You must log in to post.