My Humax Forum » Freeview HD » FVP 4000T, 5000T

Disappearing Humax icon

(30 posts)
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

    inspector

    special member
    Joined: Sep '13
    Posts: 184

    offline

    I think it comes mainly from the router, but a 13amp wifi extender socket was fitted earlier this year.

    | Mon 1 Nov 2021 16:26:36 #11 |
  2. User has not uploaded an avatar

    SSThing

    special member
    Joined: Nov '15
    Posts: 1,243

    offline

    inspector - 1 hour ago  » 
    I think it comes mainly from the router, but a 13amp wifi extender socket was fitted earlier this year.

    That may be the culprit with the eco/powersaving.

    | Mon 1 Nov 2021 18:22:28 #12 |
  3. User has not uploaded an avatar

    inspector

    special member
    Joined: Sep '13
    Posts: 184

    offline

    I thought right, I'll try the TV first, then switch off the 13A wifi socket, & see if the TV detects the Humax.
    Humax was visible before I cancelled the 13A socket!

    I'll try it later, but I was having problems before the 13A socket was fitted.

    | Mon 1 Nov 2021 18:28:03 #13 |
  4. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Martin Liddle

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 4,037

    offline

    inspector - 28 mins ago  » 
    I thought right, I'll try the TV first, then switch off the 13A wifi socket, & see if the TV detects the Humax.
    Humax was visible before I cancelled the 13A socket!
    I'll try it later, but I was having problems before the 13A socket was fitted.

    OK that sounds as though you have something to investigate and hopefully resolve the problem. Pleas let us know if do you find the definitive solution.

    | Mon 1 Nov 2021 18:58:10 #14 |
  5. User has not uploaded an avatar

    inspector

    special member
    Joined: Sep '13
    Posts: 184

    offline

    This is how it was for months, appearing one day, disappearing later, until it packed in altogether.
    Can't see any solution to it. Been trying for quite a while. Don't have any bother streaming to an LG TV (using a Netgear extender) in the back room. A lot further to the bedroom TV, & in the opposite direction.

    | Mon 1 Nov 2021 19:20:09 #15 |
  6. User has not uploaded an avatar

    SSThing

    special member
    Joined: Nov '15
    Posts: 1,243

    offline

    When you say it's a 13amp wifi socket, do you mean a plug in repeater or the type that sends the signal via the mains wiring?

    | Mon 1 Nov 2021 19:49:15 #16 |
  7. User has not uploaded an avatar

    inspector

    special member
    Joined: Sep '13
    Posts: 184

    offline

    It's a 13A socket.

    | Mon 1 Nov 2021 19:52:45 #17 |
  8. User has not uploaded an avatar

    SSThing

    special member
    Joined: Nov '15
    Posts: 1,243

    offline

    OK, something like this then?

    It plugs into the wall, picks up the WiFi and then re-sends it out.
    Try plugging it into a different socket. You need to find a sweet spot where it receives a good signal from your router and its broadcast range is effective to the TV. You might find its best position is somewhere odd that you hadn't considered.
    But also have a look at its eco/powersaving settings (as mentioned before) because when it effectively goes into standby your TV will lose connection with the Humax and the TV just might not be triggering it to reconnect.

    | Mon 1 Nov 2021 21:31:22 #18 |
  9. User has not uploaded an avatar

    inspector

    special member
    Joined: Sep '13
    Posts: 184

    offline

    the TV gets a good wifi signal. It just doesn't have the Humax icon. Tested the signal with wifi analyser.

    | Mon 1 Nov 2021 21:36:01 #19 |
  10. User has not uploaded an avatar

    SSThing

    special member
    Joined: Nov '15
    Posts: 1,243

    offline

    How is the Humax connected to the network, wifi or ethernet?

    | Mon 1 Nov 2021 21:43:45 #20 |

RSS feed for this topic

Reply »

You must log in to post.