My Humax Forum » Freeview HD » FVP 4000T, 5000T

EPG info for BBC1 HD missing

(29 posts)
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Gordon Branson

    junior member
    Joined: Nov '17
    Posts: 5

    offline

    Hi, suddenly the EPG info for BBC 1 HD has gone missing. Only this channel is afected, the others seem ok. My telly shows the info so it does not seem to be an external cause. Tried switching box off for 20 min but no change. Tried retuning but no change. Any ideas or suggestions of other things to try would be welcome.

    | Wed 22 Mar 2023 16:58:42 #1 |
  2. User has not uploaded an avatar

    A1944

    special member
    Joined: Dec '17
    Posts: 992

    offline

    The BBC have carried out some changes today on certain transmitters to make the local news on BBC One available on HD at last.

    The new version is called BBC ONE Lon HD here (variations in other regions). To get it to change on my 5000T, I eventually had to delete 101 from the list of channels and then do a manual tune on the HD channel (In the London area that is 30, but I don't know about elsewhere). When manually tuning HD you must select DVB-T2 in the tuning menu.

    I hope that helps.

    | Wed 22 Mar 2023 17:54:16 #2 |
  3. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Gordon Branson

    junior member
    Joined: Nov '17
    Posts: 5

    offline

    I suspected that there may be a connection. Typical 'gung ho' attitude of the Beeb! Many thanks for your help on this, I'll give it a try when I can get the good lady off the box later.
    Cheers.

    | Wed 22 Mar 2023 18:35:27 #3 |
  4. User has not uploaded an avatar

    A1944

    special member
    Joined: Dec '17
    Posts: 992

    offline

    Do you know your transmitter?

    | Wed 22 Mar 2023 19:16:34 #4 |
  5. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Gordon Branson

    junior member
    Joined: Nov '17
    Posts: 5

    offline

    Hi, I think I'm on the Wrekin (West Midlands) now. Was on Sutton Coldfield but can't get 'line of sight' anymore.

    | Wed 22 Mar 2023 20:41:35 #5 |
  6. User has not uploaded an avatar

    A1944

    special member
    Joined: Dec '17
    Posts: 992

    offline

    OK. If you are on The Wrekin, then the channel for manual tuning of HD is 30, the same as London. However, if it turns out it is Sutton Coldfield after all, then it is 40. But don't forget to select DVB-T2.

    | Wed 22 Mar 2023 21:34:06 #6 |
  7. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Gordon Branson

    junior member
    Joined: Nov '17
    Posts: 5

    offline

    Many thanks. You're a star! I'm confident that this will do the trick.
    Once again, many thanks!

    | Wed 22 Mar 2023 21:46:00 #7 |
  8. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Gordon Branson

    junior member
    Joined: Nov '17
    Posts: 5

    offline

    Worked a treat! Many thanks.

    | Thu 23 Mar 2023 11:58:17 #8 |
  9. User has not uploaded an avatar

    A1944

    special member
    Joined: Dec '17
    Posts: 992

    offline

    Gordon Branson - 4 hours ago  » 
    Worked a treat! Many thanks.

    Jolly good. Happy to help.

    | Thu 23 Mar 2023 16:26:31 #9 |
  10. User has not uploaded an avatar

    stortvalley80

    new member
    Joined: Apr '23
    Posts: 1

    offline

    Like Gordon, I also am missing the program info for Freeview channel 101. I get BBC1 on both 001 and 101, which I assume Gordon does as well. But without the EPG on 101, my Humax will not record programs. I’m not sure if 101 is actually HD or not, it could be SD on an HD channel, until the BBC complete their HD upgrade.
    Does anyone know when that will be for London, or I have understood this wrong?
    UPDATE:
    I decided to do a automatic update yet again (Humax 2000T Freeview). The program guide has reappeared. And it does look like HD. Hurray!

    | Mon 10 Apr 2023 20:36:47 #10 |

RSS feed for this topic

Reply »

You must log in to post.