My Humax Forum » Freesat HD » FOXSAT HDR

Freesat BBC channels stopped working

(18 posts)
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Aflan

    new member
    Joined: Oct '20
    Posts: 3

    offline

    About 2 weeks ago several BBC channels stopped working on my Foxsat PVR, including channels 101, 102, 106. Signal strength is 0% on those channels. I can see a few regional non-HD BBC channels, but not my own region (south). The remaining working channels including ITV have 100% signal strength, so my installation is good. This happened overnight (I think) after nearly 10 years of faultless performance.
    I've tried re-tuning several times and factory reset. Nothing has helped.
    Can anyone out there help please?

    | Fri 23 Oct 2020 8:50:57 #1 |
  2. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 12,429

    offline

    Could be a number of reasons. If you get water in the coax cabling it can knock out some transponders. Check the f connectors for signs of damp.

    LNB may have failed.

    Have you got channel 999 Freesat Info in your epg.

    Do any of these still work

    949 BBC Two HD
    950 BBC 1 London
    951 BBC 1 CI
    952 BBC 1 E Mids
    953 BBC 1 East (E)
    954 BBC 1 East (W)
    955 BBC 1 N West
    956 BBC 1 NE & C
    957 BBC 1 NI
    958 BBC 1 Oxford
    959 BBC 1 S East
    960 BBC 1 Scotland
    961 BBC 1 South
    962 BBC 1 S West
    963 BBC 1 W Mids
    964 BBC 1 Wales
    965 BBC 1 West
    966 BBC 1 Yorks
    967 BBC 1 EYrks&L
    968 BBC 2 England
    969 BBC 2 NI
    970 BBC 2 Scotland
    971 BBC 2 Wales HD
    972 BBC ONE HD (England)
    973 BBC 1 Scot HD

    | Fri 23 Oct 2020 9:16:27 #2 |
  3. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Aflan

    new member
    Joined: Oct '20
    Posts: 3

    offline

    Page 999 shows the page as in attached jpg. Some of the channels you ask about work, some don't. Working ones are 950, 951, 954, 955, 956, 959, 960, 965, 966, 968, 973. All others show "no or bad signal".
    Excuse my ignorance - f connector is what plugs into the back of my Humax - right? I can't see any sign of water there. And LNB is the gadget pointing into the dish? My dish is quite rusty. Could that be a cause?

    Attachments

    1. IMG_6079.JPG (84 KB, 0 downloads) 1 mnth old
    | Fri 23 Oct 2020 10:35:25 #3 |
  4. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 12,429

    offline

  5. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Aflan

    new member
    Joined: Oct '20
    Posts: 3

    offline

    Great. Thanks for your help. I'm not great on ladders, so I've got a satellite engineer coming to take a look. I'd rather pay a professional than try to diy it.

    | Fri 23 Oct 2020 11:48:07 #5 |
  6. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Cushie

    member
    Joined: Nov '13
    Posts: 10

    offline

    Aflan, please tell me if the problem was the dish, the lnb or the connections. I am in on your area and have a similar problem with other channels and am trying to resolve.

    | Sat 7 Nov 2020 16:02:09 #6 |
  7. REPASSAC

    REPASSAC

    special member
    Joined: Mar '11
    Posts: 3,929

    offline

    Cushie - Which channels have you lost - post say 6 examples including exact region.
    The channels polarity and band, if the same, would indicate a LNB in process of failure.

    | Sun 8 Nov 2020 15:04:25 #7 |
  8. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Cushie

    member
    Joined: Nov '13
    Posts: 10

    offline

    Thank you REPASSAC for your rapid response.
    I'm South Coast, Dorset, BBC South and Meridian ITV area.
    The dish has a clear view of the sky, points roughly SSE and has not been touched since installation (posssibly up to 10 years)
    These Channels are OK These Channels are "Not receiving Signal"
    101 102 103 104 105 107 108 109 110
    106 112 113 111 114 119 126 128 120
    115 116 117 118 130

    I have twin sat inputs and where working have about 90% signal on both inputs
    and on dead channels have zero, as measured by the Humax HDR 1100$ settings. The Humax is nearly 3 years old.
    Your help is most appreciated.

    | Sun 8 Nov 2020 16:51:00 #8 |
  9. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 12,429

    offline

    Cushie do you have a channel 999 - Freesat info in your epg ?

    When you run a freesat tune is your postcode validated ?

    Do any of these work

    Look at the working ones. Do they all have the same V - vertical or H Horizontal at the end.

    This list is more useful because we know which transponders they use.

    949 BBC Two HD 10773 H
    950 BBC 1 London 10773 H
    951 BBC 1 CI 10773 H
    952 BBC 1 E Mids 10788 V
    953 BBC 1 East (E) 10788 V
    954 BBC 1 East (W) 10773 H
    955 BBC 1 N West 10802 H
    956 BBC 1 NE & C 10802 H
    957 BBC 1 NI 10817 V
    958 BBC 1 Oxford 10817 V
    959 BBC 1 S East 10802 H
    960 BBC 1 Scotland 10802 H
    961 BBC 1 South 10817 V
    962 BBC 1 S West 10817 V
    963 BBC 1 W Mids 10788 V
    964 BBC 1 Wales 10788 V
    965 BBC 1 West 10773 H
    966 BBC 1 Yorks 10802 H
    967 BBC 1 EYrks&L 10788 V
    968 BBC 2 England 10773 H
    969 BBC 2 NI 10817 V
    970 BBC 2 Scotland 10802 H
    971 BBC 2 Wales HD 10788 V
    972 BBC ONE HD (England) 10847 V
    973 BBC 1 Scot HD 11023 H
    974 Channel 4 10714 H
    975 Channel 4 + 1 10936 V
    976 BBC 1 Wales HD 11023 H
    977 ITV 10758 V
    978 BBC 1 NI HD 10847 V
    979 BBC Two Wales 10788 V

    | Sun 8 Nov 2020 17:19:08 #9 |
  10. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Cushie

    member
    Joined: Nov '13
    Posts: 10

    offline

    Hi Graham, I have 999 on the program guide but the channel 999 is "not receiving a signal"

    I am receiving Freesat through the Humax box which has no tuning (as the Television has but is not being used)
    In settings on the Humax the postcode is logged under "General Information".

    These channels work These don't work
    949,952,953, 957,958, 950,951,954,955,956,959
    961,962,963, 964,967, 969 960,965,966,968,973
    971,972,975, 977,978, 979 974,976,981,999
    From your list my working channels are mostly V except 949
    I don't get the 10000 H or V listed on EPG or Info

    I do have access to the dish and LNB
    Your response is appreciated, thank you.

    | Mon 9 Nov 2020 14:32:20 #10 |

RSS feed for this topic

Reply »

You must log in to post.