My Humax Forum » Freeview HD » FVP 4000T, 5000T

FVP-5000T suffers momentary pauses on HD channels

(9 posts)
  1. djadams

djadams

I'm a Humax newbie, the unit arrived three days ago. I noticed that, watching HD channels through the box, there's a frequent momentary pause in the video, and then it catches up - it's probably only half a second, but it's quite noticeable. The audio is fine, no pause in that. Recordings are also fine, and I've recorded two HD channels at once with no issues. If I watch a standard channel through the box (e.g. ITV rather than ITV HD) that momentary pause doesn't happen. I'm wondering if the box is having a problem buffering the HD video for rewind purposes. Has anyone else seen this?

| Wed 11 Aug 2021 8:17:27 #1 |
  2. User has not uploaded an avatar

Martin Liddle

special member

djadams - 28 mins ago  » 
    I'm wondering if the box is having a problem buffering the HD video for rewind purposes. Has anyone else seen this?

Is this a new box or second-hand? What is the signal strength and quality (as reported by the Humax) when tuned to the HD channels?

| Wed 11 Aug 2021 8:48:28 #2 |
  3. User has not uploaded an avatar

A1944

special member

Yes, also worthwhile comparing the reported strength/quality on HD with those on SD (eg. BBC1 and ITV).

| Wed 11 Aug 2021 10:02:04 #3 |
  4. djadams

djadams

It's a new box - the signal strength on tuners 1 and 2 are 71% and 75%, and the quality is 100% on both. Nothing listed for tuner 3 (I guess because it's not in use at the moment).

| Wed 11 Aug 2021 11:04:28 #4 |
  5. User has not uploaded an avatar

Martin Liddle

special member

djadams - 22 mins ago  » 
    It's a new box - the signal strength on tuners 1 and 2 are 71% and 75%, and the quality is 100% on both. Nothing listed for tuner 3 (I guess because it's not in use at the moment).