My Humax Forum » Freeview HD » Aura UHD

Help with HDMI cable please

(11 posts)
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Ne5

    member
    Joined: Feb '19
    Posts: 21

    offline

    Hello

    I have just got this new Humax Aura.

    Its good (the old one was on the way out), but - i'm having problems with the HDMI cable. The TV blacks out and stops for a second or two, not much, but obviously it is a bother.

    The TV is fairly new LG ( i can get the model number if its needed) , and i'm going through the settings on the Humax, ie 1080/60 etc, but so far none of them have cured it. Is this down to using the supplied HDMI cable, do i need a better one ? Or is there another solution ?

    | Thu 18 Apr 2024 0:20:59 #1 |
  2. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Ne5

    member
    Joined: Feb '19
    Posts: 21

    offline

    The model of TV is LG43UP81006LA.AEK

    | Thu 18 Apr 2024 1:26:07 #2 |
  3. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Martin Liddle

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 4,628

    offline

    Ne5 - 10 hours ago  » 
    Its good (the old one was on the way out), but - i'm having problems with the HDMI cable. The TV blacks out and stops for a second or two, not much, but obviously it is a bother.

    Are the blackouts on ITV when watching live (rather than a recording)? Is the box connected to the Internet?

    | Thu 18 Apr 2024 10:59:54 #3 |
  4. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Ne5

    member
    Joined: Feb '19
    Posts: 21

    offline

    my gf says its both .... although it seems to me its live .... and no she doesn't have it connected to the internet.

    It was set to auto at first, but after it blanked/stalled i set it at a fixed refresher rate, and moving through these and other settings.

    | Thu 18 Apr 2024 12:02:08 #4 |
  5. User has not uploaded an avatar

    VitaminD

    special member
    Joined: Mar '22
    Posts: 126

    offline

    Have you got another HDMI cable you can use to try and eliminate that.

    | Thu 18 Apr 2024 13:42:58 #5 |
  6. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Martin Liddle

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 4,628

    offline

    Ne5 - 4 hours ago  » 
    my gf says its both .... although it seems to me its live .... and no she doesn't have it connected to the internet.

    I think this is a known bug for which Humax have recently issued a fix but the only way to get the fix is to be connected to the Internet. The instructions from Humax are as follows:

    "The update is being rolled out automatically to all boxes as users continue to use their devices normally.
    However, if you find that your unit still retains the old version of the app, we kindly ask you to follow the steps outlined below for a manual update:

    Turn on your set-top box and watch live TV for 1 minute.
    Place the set-top box into standby mode for 1 minute.
    Turn on your set-top box again and watch live TV for 5 minutes.
    Place the set-top box into standby mode once more, this time for 2 minutes.
    Check the version name in Settings > Apps > See all apps > Show system apps > "Freeview"
    (Please note: This should not be confused with Freeview TV, which should display as "1.00_62_240210")."

    Once you have the update you can disconnect from the Internet if desired.

    | Thu 18 Apr 2024 16:40:34 #6 |
  7. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Ne5

    member
    Joined: Feb '19
    Posts: 21

    offline

    where did you get this from Martin ? From the Humax site ?

    If it comes to this, I'll do it, but I'll have to use my phone and hotspot, unless there's another way.

    | Thu 18 Apr 2024 23:02:04 #7 |
  8. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Ne5

    member
    Joined: Feb '19
    Posts: 21

    offline

    where did you get this from Martin ? From the Humax site ?

    If it comes to this, I'll do it, but I'll have to use my phone and hotspot, unless there's another way.

    | Thu 18 Apr 2024 23:09:09 #8 |
  9. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Ne5

    member
    Joined: Feb '19
    Posts: 21

    offline

    VitaminD - 9 hours ago  » 
    Have you got another HDMI cable you can use to try and eliminate that.

    Yes i have, I'll try it first

    | Thu 18 Apr 2024 23:35:35 #9 |
  10. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Martin Liddle

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 4,628

    offline

    Ne5 - 25 mins ago  » 
    where did you get this from Martin ? From the Humax site ?

    The instructions came from Humax support to a member of this site who published them in a thread here.

    If it comes to this, I'll do it, but I'll have to use my phone and hotspot, unless there's another way.

    I am not aware of another way of doing it.

    | Thu 18 Apr 2024 23:37:23 #10 |

RSS feed for this topic

Reply »

You must log in to post.