My Humax Forum » Freesat HD » HDR 1000, 1010, 1100S

Humax 1100s faulty?

(14 posts)
  1. foxleybob

    foxleybob

    special member
    Joined: Oct '19
    Posts: 116

    offline

    I have had the above free-sat box brand new for 4 years, and it's now showing a fault..."The receiver is not receiving a signal or the signal is too weak"
    I'm unsure if this is a box thing or the satellite dish.
    I've done the unplug box for over a minute etc, so is it likely to be the dish?
    any help would be appreciated, please.

    Bob

    | Wed 25 Oct 2023 11:28:49 #1 |
  2. User has not uploaded an avatar

    bobspark

    senior member
    Joined: Oct '14
    Posts: 51

    offline

    I would check the cable ends at the satellite dish for tightness and any water ingress.
    It may be if there is enough slack you can just re terminate the ends and all will be well.

    | Wed 25 Oct 2023 12:40:58 #2 |
  3. foxleybob

    foxleybob

    special member
    Joined: Oct '19
    Posts: 116

    offline

    Thank you for your reply.
    I did check the cable ends on the box, but no thought of the dish ends.
    might have to bite the bullet and get an engineer around to look then.

    | Wed 25 Oct 2023 14:23:06 #3 |
  4. foxleybob

    foxleybob

    special member
    Joined: Oct '19
    Posts: 116

    offline

    I laddered up to the Dish and the connections are secure and dry thankfully.
    Still not working correctly.
    Awaiting an engineer now.

    | Fri 27 Oct 2023 9:52:21 #4 |
  5. User has not uploaded an avatar

    jdlfreetime

    special member
    Joined: Dec '13
    Posts: 354

    offline

    Hi foxleybob,

    Might be faulty lnb? Easy to swap over if you are able to climb ladder+ save money on engineer call out. John L

    | Fri 27 Oct 2023 10:47:55 #5 |
  6. foxleybob

    foxleybob

    special member
    Joined: Oct '19
    Posts: 116

    offline

    Just doing a search for a new box etc, and came across the Humax Aura
    How do they compare with what I have please?

    | Fri 27 Oct 2023 12:02:52 #6 |
  7. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Martin Liddle

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 4,636

    offline

    foxleybob - 1 hour ago  » 
    Just doing a search for a new box etc, and came across the Humax Aura
    How do they compare with what I have please?

    The Aura isn't a satellite box; it needs a TV aerial. If that isn't a problem for you then you need to do your research carefully as the Aura isn't perfect. I use one as my PVR and I can live with it but it does have irritating bugs that Humax should have fixed.

    | Fri 27 Oct 2023 13:05:54 #7 |
  8. foxleybob

    foxleybob

    special member
    Joined: Oct '19
    Posts: 116

    offline

    Thank you martin.
    I'll bear that in mind.
    So would you or others recommend the Arris box alternative?:)

    | Fri 27 Oct 2023 14:10:54 #8 |
  9. foxleybob

    foxleybob

    special member
    Joined: Oct '19
    Posts: 116

    offline

    JUst thinking....
    Has Humax really left Free Sat alone?

    | Fri 27 Oct 2023 14:15:27 #9 |
  10. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Martin Liddle

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 4,636

    offline

    foxleybob - 16 mins ago  » 
    Has Humax really left Free Sat alone?

    Other way round; Freesat chose Arris rather than Humax to make the next Freesat box.

    | Fri 27 Oct 2023 14:33:26 #10 |

RSS feed for this topic

Reply »

You must log in to post.