My Humax Forum » Freeview HD » FVP 4000T, 5000T

No BBC! WEST (points west)

(18 posts)
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Mike Whitworth

    new member
    Joined: Sep '20
    Posts: 1

    offline

    Hi I trialed freeveiw on my Panasonic smart TV and was Happy with it , so felt confident in purchasing a fvp5000t after giving up sky!!.
    The problem I am having is that with the Panasonic I get BBC1west but with the 5000t I get BBc1 midlands They are BOTH using the same aerial to receive the signal from Lark Stoke Transmitter I want to be able to get "Points West news on BBC1
    I have retuned the Humax many times to no avail
    I cannot understand why 2 freeview systems in the same location using the same Ariel
    one gets BBC1Midlands the other BBC1 west? . I am obviously missing something but do not understand this. Please help/ advise
    Mike.

    | Sun 13 Sep 2020 17:05:55 #1 |
  2. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Martin Liddle

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 3,169

    online

    Mike Whitworth - 6 mins ago  » 
    The problem I am having is that with the Panasonic I get BBC1west but with the 5000t I get BBc1 midlands They are BOTH using the same aerial to receive the signal from Lark Stoke Transmitter I want to be able to get "Points West news on BBC1
    I have retuned the Humax many times to no avail
    I cannot understand why 2 freeview systems in the same location using the same Ariel
    one gets BBC1Midlands the other BBC1 west? . I am obviously missing something but do not understand this. Please help/ advise

    You need to do a manual tune in these circumstances using the procedure in the FAQ at https://myhumax.org/forum/topic/manual-tuning-instructions-1 Note that the link to digitaluk is obsolete. Use https://www.freeview.co.uk/corporate/platform-management to access the Freeview checker. Have a go and come back and ask questions where you need clarification.

    | Sun 13 Sep 2020 17:16:05 #2 |
  3. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 11,777

    online

    My 5000T uses lark Stoke and it's definitely BBC 1 West Midlands. Lark Stoke is a relay of Sutton Coldfield so it cannot be anything but BBC 1 West Midlands.

    Only thing I can think of is you are well south of Lark Stoke and the TV is getting reception off the back of the aerial. Or the TV has a satellite tuner and it's connected to a dish.

    The nearest transmitter with Points West on it would seem to be Mendip.

    Select manual tune on the TV select channel 32 DVB-T. What does the signal strength and quality say.

    If you really want a South West regional channel a dish and a Freesat box would be your best option.

    Points West is on all Freesat kit on lcn 962.

    Do you by any chance have two aerials and a diplexer box ?

    | Sun 13 Sep 2020 18:00:26 #3 |
  4. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 11,777

    online

    Martin Liddle - 46 mins ago  » 

    Mike Whitworth - 6 mins ago  » 
    The problem I am having is that with the Panasonic I get BBC1west but with the 5000t I get BBc1 midlands They are BOTH using the same aerial to receive the signal from Lark Stoke Transmitter I want to be able to get "Points West news on BBC1

    I manual tune Lark Stoke but as it's a Sutton Coldfield relay there is no way to get a South West Area BBC1- SD region is from a different transmitter like Mendip.

    Op needs to give us a clue as to actual location.

    I have retuned the Humax many times to no avail
    I cannot understand why 2 freeview systems in the same location using the same Ariel
    one gets BBC1Midlands the other BBC1 west? . I am obviously missing something but do not understand this. Please help/ advise

    You need to do a manual tune in these circumstances using the procedure in the FAQ at https://myhumax.org/forum/topic/manual-tuning-instructions-1 Note that the link to digitaluk is obsolete. Use https://www.freeview.co.uk/corporate/platform-management to access the Freeview checker. Have a go and come back and ask questions where you need clarification.

    Edited by Mod for clarity

    | Sun 13 Sep 2020 18:04:09 #4 |
  5. User has not uploaded an avatar

    A1944

    special member
    Joined: Dec '17
    Posts: 492

    online

    Graham: I am totally confused by your quoting and supposed replies. You seem to have bits of the OP and bits of Martin's posts, it just doesn't make sense.

    It certainly sounds as if the OP needs to do a manual tune to get BBC West, but without some location information, it is difficult to know which transmitter to use, Mendip or perhaps some relay, it is impossible to say with any certainty.

    | Sun 13 Sep 2020 23:00:39 #5 |
  6. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 11,777

    online

    A1944 - 11 hours ago  » 
    Graham: I am totally confused by your quoting and supposed replies. You seem to have bits of the OP and bits of Martin's posts, it just doesn't make sense.
    It certainly sounds as if the OP needs to do a manual tune to get BBC West, but without some location information, it is difficult to know which transmitter to use, Mendip or perhaps some relay, it is impossible to say with any certainty.

    The forum handles quoutes in a very odd way and you cannot edit to make sense.

    Basically - Lark Stoke is Sutton Coldfield relay (actually a SFN with Bromsgrove and the Wrekin) so only carries BBC1- West Midlands so impossible to get the West Country BBC 1 Variant. So the TV must be using a different transmitter. Lark Stoke is virtually due north from my location. So guessing the OP must be South of Lark Stoke and getting Mendip or possibly one of it's relays.

    We we would need the postcode of a nearby building say a Pub to guess which transmitter it might be.

    A Freesat box has all BBC 1 SD and HD regions and nations on it's epg.

    | Mon 14 Sep 2020 11:05:38 #6 |
  7. Trev

    Trev

    special member
    Joined: Apr '18
    Posts: 489

    online

    So best idea is not to quote when answering the question immediately above. It's just confusing and clutters up the thread. But I agree that the quoting in this forum is really difficult to sort.

    | Mon 14 Sep 2020 16:11:22 #7 |
  8. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 11,777

    online

    I should have said Lark Stoke is due South. Sutton Coldfield is due north but have close up woodland on my northern boundary.

    | Mon 14 Sep 2020 16:25:43 #8 |
  9. Trev

    Trev

    special member
    Joined: Apr '18
    Posts: 489

    online

    Mike Whitworth - 23 hours ago  » I am obviously missing something but do not understand this. Please help/ advise
    Mike.

    No, you are not actually 'missing something' but for some reason or other, your boxes 'prefer' different transmitters(don't ask). Although the satellite route would solve your 'problem', you are obviously 'within range' of a terrestrial transmitter that transmits Points West because your Panasonic receives it, but 'we' need to find out which one.

    Like GLT said, please let 'us' know a postcode within a couple of hundred yards of your location and that will likely take the guesswork out of the equation.

    You need to find out which transmitter is the likely one transmits Points West and then manually tune the 5000T to that transmitter.

    You obviously think that you are receiving Points West from Lark Stoke on the Panasonic (you are not as it seems that LS is midlands TV), but it seems that your 5000T is receiving from LS.

    | Mon 14 Sep 2020 16:32:47 #9 |
  10. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 11,777

    online

    Mike before you do anything. Check your 5000T does not have channel numbers over 800. Your missing channel may have been put up there as that's where duplicates are stored on a auto tune.

    | Mon 14 Sep 2020 16:54:26 #10 |

RSS feed for this topic

Reply »

You must log in to post.